The New Face Of Unity State Government in Sudan

Unity State Governor Brigadier Taban Deng Gai has unveiled his new cabinet.

The announcement made on Tuesday saw the appointment of 14 new State Ministers, nine State Advisors and nine County Commissioners.

In the new cabinet, only two immediate former State Ministers have been retained: Former Education, Science and Technology Minister William Daud Riek who now takes the State Minister of Legal Affairs and Constitutional Development docket besides being the Deputy State Governor and former Minister for Local Government and Law Enforcement Colonel Samuel Luony Geng who becomes the new Minister for Animal Resources and Fisheries.

Similarly, more than half of the former Commissioners were replaced, giving the new administration a fresh look.

There was also the appointment of new State Advisors, a clear sign that the new administration was committed to fulfill its pre-election pledge of a new leadership.

In the run up to April’s elections, residents of Unity State expressed their misgivings with the outgoing administration and urged the new SPLM leadership to give them new and competent leaders who will serve them with dedication and commitment.

The long – awaited appointments were made following last week’s formation of the Government of Southern Sudan (GoSS) by the SPLM Chairman and GoSS President Salva Kiir Mayardit.

In a statement to the media, Governor Taban said he was pleased to announce the new Government and thanked the people of Unity State for their relentless quest to see a new administration in place.

“It is my hope that the new government will serve the people efficiently and make delivery of services to the people a priority”, he said.

Those who were appointed as State Ministers include:

Mr William Daud Riek: Deputy Governor of Unity State and State Minister of Legal Affairs and Constitutional Development
Colonel Samuel Luony Geng: Minister of Animal Resources and Fisheries
Mr Thomas Jal Thomas: State Minister of Finance, Trade and Industry
Engineer Diew Charow Kuel: State Minister of physical Infrastructure and Urban Development
Mr Them Machar Kuol: State Minister of Education, Science and Technology
Mr Stephen Pei Bilieu: State Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
Engineer William Gatjang Geng: State Minister of Environment and Natural Resources
Mrs Deborah Kur Manyiel: State Minister of Health
Mr Joseph Gai Riek: State Minister of Local Government and Law Enforcement
Mr Buoth Puok Baluang: State Minister of Agriculture and Forestry
Mr Joseph Arop Malual: State Minister of Labour and Public Service
Mr Gideon Gatpan Thor: State Minister of Information and Communication
Mr Samuel Reyhok Nger: State Minister of Social Development

Those appointed to serve as State Advisors include:

Colonel Michael Chiangjiek Geay: Security Affairs
Mrs Nyachieng Biy Tueat: Gender and Child Welfare
Mr John Yak Jany: Political Affairs
Colonel Stephen Thiey Yar: Peace and Reconciliation
Mr Samuel Sudan Tot: Culture, Youth and Sports
Mr William Chuol Kiir: Education Affairs
Teresa Nyakat Chuol: Humanitarian and Food Security
Mrs Norino Nyagai Tut Lul: Housing and Public Utilities
UDSF Main Nominee yet to be appointed will be the State Advisor for Economic Affairs

The County Commissioners appointed include:

Mr Mayang Tiach Badeng: Commissioner for State Headquarters
Colonel Mabek Lang de Mading: Commissioner, Pariang County
Colonel James Pui Yak: Commissioner, Guit County
Mr Stephen Taker Riek: Commissioner, Leer County
Colonel George Gatbany Chuol: Commissioner, Mayandit County
Major Arop Yuot Kaman: Commissioner, Abiemnom County
Colonel Simon Jalduong Matuek: Commissioner, Rubkona County
Colonel John Madeng Gaduel: Commissioner, Mayom County
Colonel Peter Gai Jok: Commissioner, Payinjar County
Major John Chuol Wang: Commissioner, Koch County

Related Articles

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *