Campbell announces the cabinet for Queensland

The newly sworn in Premier of Queensland Newman Campbell announced his cabinet on Friday and named 19 ministers with 11 assistant ministers.

While announcing the new ministry members, Campbell also said that the new cabinet has been formed keeping in mind that the state needs representation from all regions. The new MP John McVeigh and David Crisafulli have been moved to the ministry of Fisheries and Forestry and Local Government and Agriculture, respectively. Lawrence Springborg, who is the ex-LNP leader, has also been given a title in the cabinet but that with much trouble to follow. He is appointed as the Minister of Health with MP Chris Davis as the assistant minister. Mr. Davis is a doctor by profession. Marc McArdle, who was most commonly referred to as the shadow of the previous health minister, has now been appointed as the Minister of Energy and Water Supply.

The Ministry of Education, Training, and Employment has been handed over to another old LPN leader, John-Paul Langbroek. The Ministry of Tourism will be led by Jann Stuckey, MP from Gold Coast with Gavin King as the assistant minister.

Newman further announced that his cabinet will have a female speaker for the first time in history of the state and appointed Fiona Simpson, MP from Sunshine Coast to the seat. The deputy speaker of the parliament and the chairman of committees was announced to be Glen Elmes.

Article viewed on Oye! Times at 

Related Articles

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *