Rogers Sportsnet signs four-year agreement to broadcast Indian Premier League

IPL cricket action starts on Friday, April 8th
The biggest cricket stars in the world are coming to Rogers Sportsnet as the network has signed an exclusive four-year agreement to broadcast live the Indian Premier League, starting Friday, April 8th.
The agreement gives Sportsnet exclusive Canadian television rights and Pay-per-View rights to the League, featuring stars such as Sachin Tendulkar (India), Shane Warne (Australia), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Andrew Symonds (Australia) and Jacques Kallis (South Africa).       
“Cricket is a premiere sport whose multinational flavour is felt across the globe,” said Scott Moore, President, Rogers Broadcasting.  “This partnership will not only attract fans of the sport but also introduce a brand new audience to Sportsnet as we become the destination for the Indian Premier League in Canada.”  
"We are delighted to welcome Rogers to the IPL broadcast family," said Yannick Colaco, COO, Nimbus. "Since its inception only 3 years ago, the IPL has consistently broken traditional cricket barriers and reached out to new audiences. We are confident that Rogers Sportsnet will continue to expand the growth of the cricketing market in Canada by widening our audience and fan base in the region."
Sportsnet ONE will be home to 36 group-stage matches for the 2011 IPL.  Rogers Sportsnet will present another 38 matches on Pay-per-View, including 34 from the group stage, three playoff games and the championship match. 
IPL has become one of the biggest sporting spectacles in the world, capturing a massive global audience across all continents including Australia, North America and throughout the Middle East.  The League will play Twenty20 cricket, comprised of 10 teams competing in 12 venues across India.  
Click on the Sportsnet link below for the full schedule:
Related Articles

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *