July 23 :: Toronto Independent Music Awards

On Friday, July 23 at The Phoenix Concert Theater, the Toronto Independent Music Awards will be handing out prizes to some of music’s brightest new stars.  As a way of giving back to a community that helps shape the culture and sub-culture of not only Toronto, but Canada as well, the show provides tangible, valuable prizes that are designed to help independent artists reach their goals.

With awards ranging from a song release to the entire Canadian radio format list to an all expenses paid European tour, this year’s winners will be taking home much more than the honor of being the best in their category.

This year’s categories and prizes will include:

Best Song will receive a single song release to the entire Canadian radio format list, courtesy of Yangaroo/DMDS.

Best Country will receive five hours at Music Mentor Production Studio, a one-year membership to the Country Music Association of Ontario, and a Long & McQuade voucher provided by Country Music Association of Ontario and Music Mentor Productions.

Best Young Songwriter will receivefive hours at Music Mentor Productions Studio, a one-year membership to the Songwriters Association of Canada and a Long & McQuade voucher provided by the Songwriters Association of Canada and Peter Linesman.

Best Live – Electric will get an all expenses paid European tour, and Tom Jackson’s All Roads Lead to the Stage – 7 DVD courtesy of TRYXO and Tom Jackson.

Best Pop will receive an in-store song placement in six stores for three months from Track Avenue Records. In each store a music tag will be played which includes the name of the artist and where you can find the music, and the artist will be featured on the website under Feature Artist of the Month.

Best Alternative Rock will receive a professional photo shoot including post-production from Ajani Charles Photography

Best Female Fronted will receive vocal sessions with distinguished vocal coach Donna Flynn who has worked with EMI Records, Canadian Idol and Sony/Curve.

As Canadian artists continue to win audiences all over the globe, the eyes of the music industry are turning to the Toronto music scene to discover what’s next.  Join us on July 23rd as we award the best that Toronto has to offer and send off 20 category winners with prizes that will help take their careers to the next level.


WHEN: Friday, July 23rd

WHERE: Phoenix Concert Theatre (410 Sherbourne Street, Toronto)

DOORS: 6:30 PM



HOSTS: D’Anise and Sean Ward

TICKETS:$10.00 in advance, $15.00 at the door, available for sale here:

PERFORMERS (all previous year’s winners unless otherwise noted):

·      Ripple Rhythm– special introductory performance
·      Marinda
·      Mike Celia
·      Lori Nuic
·      JD ERA
·      Shobha
·      Jumple
·      The Brilliancy formerly known as Corporate Saturday
·      All The Trendy Kids formerly known as The Stiff Wires
·      2010 Winner of BEST LIVE – Electric, TBA
·      2010 Winner of BEST LIVE – Acoustic, TBA
·      2010 Winner of BEST LIVE – Urban, TBA
·      The Ruby Spirit formerly known as Sadie May Crash * Closing the show with a 30 minute set.


Best Female-Fronted:
Amber Long
Amy Towers
Shawnee Lynn Talbot
Prita Chhabra

Best Adult Contemporary:
Lucas Hunter
Michael Hughes
Elyssa Mahoney & Lucas Haneman
Rehan Dalal
Mikey Bustos

Best Jazz:
The Bill McBirnie Duo/Quartet
Brownman Electryc Trio
Rhonda Silver
Jen Sagar
Steve Koven Trio

Best Rap:
Kae Sun
Peter Jackson

Best Urban:
Dana Jean Phoenix
God Made Me Funky
Alexandra Kane
Michelle Mondesir

Best Metal:
Blind Race
Man the Destroyer
Ill of Day

Best Acoustic:
Alistair Blaik Bundale
Kate Reid
Morgan Sadler
Layah Jane

Best Folk:
Beth Moore
Sarah Hiltz
Carly and Mark
The Tree Streets

Best Country:
Shelly Rastin
Tonya Kennedy
Urban Preacher
The River Junction Band
Shari Lynn

Best International, Best USA & Best Out-Of-Province:
The White Ravens
Smile Smile
Timothy Campbell II
Soul Whyte

Best Young Songwriter(s):
Medicine Dog
TJ Whitelaw
Tomorrow Depends
Avoiding the Afterlife

Best World Music:
Vandana Vishwas
Njacko Backo & Kalimba Kalimba
LENTIC: the new project by EMBER SWIFT

Best Punk:
The Away Game
Saving Fiction
Cut Throat Kids
No Right Turns

Best Pop:
Joel Geleynse
Miss Mercury
Amy Towers
Darrelle London

Best Indie Rock:
Night Flowers
The Strange
The Sound Technicians
The Scarlet Fever

BEST LIVE – Urban:
Richh Kidd
Triple D
Scorcese & Ceaza Leon

Best Alternative Rock:
Everyone’s Talking
Basia Lyjak
The Joys
Prodigal Suns

Best Song:
Amber Long – “Blinding Epiphany”
Morgan Sadler – “Go On”
Amy Towers – “Secret Love”
Beth Moore – “The Road”
Darellle London – “Understand”

VIP PRESENTERS: Kim Davis (Urban – Independent), The Artist Life (Underground Operations), The Johnstones (Stomp/Warner) and more TBA!

Related Articles

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *