Cyprus Soccer Women’s Cup unveils 12-team format

The participating teams and dates have been announced for the 2011 edition of the Cyprus Women’s Cup. Canada, who will be participating for a fourth-consecutive year, is now part of an expanded 12-team tournament which runs 2-9 March in Larnaka and surrounding areas in Cyprus.

The 2011 tournament field is split into three groups. Defending champion Canada is in Group 1 with England, Italy and Scotland. Group 2 features France, New Zealand, Netherlands and Switzerland while Group 3 features Russia, Korea Republic, Northern Ireland and Korea DPR.

The group match dates are 2 March, 4 March and 7 March. The classification matches (including the championship final) are all on 9 March.

This year’s competition features five qualified teams from the upcoming FIFA Women’s World Cup Germany 2011. Canada, England, France, New Zealand and Korea DPR are all making preparations for this summer’s big tournament. Of note, while Canada and France are in separate groups in Cyprus, they will face each other on 30 June in Bochum in the group phase of the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Canada, whose title sponsor is Winners and presenting sponsor is Teck, is a two-time Cyprus Women’s Cup champion. Canada finished first in 2008, second in 2009 (to England), and first in 2010.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *