Sridevi Sharmila Tagore receive Padma awards

Back in January, we had reported that from the 108 awardees for the Padma awards, Bollywood featured very strongly. Leading the Bollywood brigade at the awards was late Rajesh Khanna, Sridevi, Nana Patekar, Sharmila Tagore, Late. Jaspal Bhatti. While other known personalities included producer Daggubati Rama Naidu, industrialist Adi Godrej, as well as sports stars Rahul Dravid and Mary Kom.

Today, President of India, Pranab Mukherji in a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan conferred Sridevi and Sharmila Tagore with the Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan awards respectively. While Telugu producer D. Ramanaidu received the Padma Bhushan for his outstanding contribution in the field of Filmmaking.

Other awardees for the Padma Shri included actor Nana Patekar, Madhu of Chemmeen fame and Olympians Yogeshwar Dutt and Vijay Kumar. While Late Jaspal Bhatti, who died in a car crash last year, noted South Indian playback singer S Janaki, Bharatnatyam dancer Saroja Vaidyanathan, missile scientist Dr A Sivathanu Pillai of BrahMos programme, Industrialist Adi Godrej and R Tyagarajan, former bureaucrat M K Bhan were among the 24 Padma Bhushan awardees.

Article written by staff at Bollywood Hungama. Read more

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *