Contesting stars films banned on Doordarshan

This term of elections is witnessing not just rules and regulations, but also its implementation like never before.

Amongst the other terms and conditions, there is one which is related to actors who are contesting for Lok Sabha elections. The Election Commission has banned the telecast of their feature films on Doordarshan. The stars include the likes of Hema Malini, Jaya Prada, Smriti Irani, Nagma, Javed Jaffery amongst others. The concerned election officials stated that the films and programmes were brought under the ambit of the model code of conduct and will now be viewed as 'objects that will influence voters'.

On the other hand, the films and ads of the contesting candidates have not been banned from being telecasted on the private channels or cinema halls. Talking about this step, UP's Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Umesh Sinha said that the feature films have been banned in Doordarshan as it is run through public money.

Article written by staff at Bollywood Hungama. Read more

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *