Leo Cullen names Leinster Rugby squad to play Canada in Hamilton

This article was last updated on April 16, 2022

Canada: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…
USA: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…

Three of Leinster Rugby's newest young guns have been included in the squad that will head across the Atlantic ocean this week.

Blues head coach Leo Cullen has today revealed his travelling squad for the friendly match against the Canadian men's team this Saturday evening.

Academy players Ryan Baird, Harry Byrne and Martin Moloney have been named in the 27-man squad.

Second-row Baird made his senior debut last season off the bench against Ulster at Kingspan Stadium and is now in his second year in the Leinster Academy.

Harry Byrne (Year Two) and Martin Moloney (Year One) both started last Saturday's Bank of Ireland Pre-season Friendly against Coventry.

There are six senior internationals in the group with Michael Bent (4 Ireland caps), James Tracy (6), Adam Byrne (1) and Rory O'Loughlin (1) all selected, with Scott Fardy (39 Australia caps) and Joe Tomane (17) also both travelling to Canada.

Leinster's pre-season schedule kicked off last Saturday at Energia Park against Coventry Rugby with Cullen's men coming out on top 47-17 against the English Championship side.

Leinster Rugby take on Canada at Tim Hortons Field, Hamilton, Ontario, on Saturday (KO 3pm ET

Cullen will run the rule over his squad one more time before beginning the defence of their Guinness PRO14 title on September 28 with a tricky trip to face Italian side Benetton.

They travel to Franklin's Gardens to play against English Premiership club Northampton Saints on Thursday, September 12.

Leinster Rugby – Canada travelling squad


Vakh Abdaladze (7 Leinster Rugby caps)

Ryan Baird (1)*

Michael Bent (124)

Bryan Byrne (42)

Ed Byrne (45)

Will Connors (5)

Max Deegan (46)

Peter Dooley (61)

Caelan Doris (16)

Scott Fardy (44)

Rónan Kelleher (2)

Martin Moloney (0)*

Ross Molony (82)

Josh Murphy (21)

James Tracy (92)


Adam Byrne (52)

Harry Byrne (0)*

Barry Daly (36)

Ciarán Frawley (14)

Hugo Keenan (5)

Cian Kelleher (7)

Conor O'Brien (17)

Jimmy O'Brien (7)

Rory O'Loughlin (61)

Hugh O'Sullivan (14)

Patrick Patterson (3)*

Joe Tomane (13)

Share with friends
You can publish this article on your website as long as you provide a link back to this page.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.