CONCACAF Signals: October 25, 2011



Quarterfinal field set

The LA Galaxy held off Motagua 1-0 Thursday to claim the eighth and final place in the quarterfinals of the CONCACAF Champions League, completing the field for the knockout round in the last match of the Group Stage.

With only two berths settled going into the final week, the six remaining spots were decided in the final round of matches, with the Galaxy being the last club to join Morelia, Santos, Isidro Metapan, Pumas, Toronto FC, Monterrey and the Seattle Sounders.

The Galaxy’s victory moved it atop Group A and past Morelia, which claimed its spot with a 2-1 victory over Alajuelense on Tuesday. All three finished with 12 points, but the Galaxy prevailed – and Alajuelense was eliminated — on goal difference in the games between the trio.

Santos Laguna, which had already qualified, finished with a 2-0 victory over the Colorado Rapids on Wednesday to win Group B. Isidro Metapan became the first Salvadoran team to reach the quarterfinals with a 3-2 win over Real Espana in El Salvador on Thursday.

In Group C, Pumas defeated Tauro 1-0 in Mexico City on Tuesday to win its group for the third time in as many tries. Toronto FC surprised FC Dallas 3-0 at Pizza Hut Park in Texas on Tuesday to advance out of the Group Stage for the first time.

With the Seattle Sounders already qualified, Monterrey travelled to the American Northwest and won 2-1 on Wednesday, climbing atop Group D and giving Mexico four quarterfinalists for the fourth straight year. Besides the four Mexican sides, Major League Soccer will have three teams in the quarterfinals along with Metapan from Central America.

The quarterfinal pairings, in which the group winners are assured of hosting the second leg, will be decided at a draw tentatively set for early November.

Draw establishes groups for London qualifying finals in Vancouver 

Host Canada will face Costa Rica, Cuba and Haiti, while the United States will play Mexico, Guatemala and the Dominican Republic in the group phase of the CONCACAF Olympic women’s qualifying finals.

Monday’s draw for the January 19-29 event in Vancouver ensured a rematch between the two-time winner of the tournament, the United States, against Mexico, which upset the Americans in the semifinals of last year’s Women’s World Cup Qualifying.

A complete schedule of games will be announced tomorrow.

Two teams will qualify for the 2012 Olympic Games in London July 27-August 12.

Canada, Mexico vie for chance at Pan Ams gold 

Brazil will face Mexico, and CONCACAF champion Canada will meet Colombia in the women’s semifinals at the Pan American Games on Tuesday.

Brazil and Canada finished tied atop Group B with the South Americans winning the group crown on a drawing of lots.

After a pair of draws against Trinidad and Chile, Mexico beat Colombia 1-0 on Saturday to finish with five points, one behind Colombia in Group B and advance to the final four.

The semifinal winners will meet Thursday in the gold medal match, after the bronze medal game between the knockout-round losers.

Panama, Costa Rica square off for final Central American berth in Olympic qualifying finals

Panama will host Costa Rica in Panama City on Wednesday in the first leg of their playoff to determine Central America’s third and final berth in the CONCACAF Olympic men’s qualifying finals.

The second leg is set for Estadio Alejandro Soto Morera in Alajuela, Costa Rica on November 3. The aggregate winner will join El Salvador and Honduras as well as automatic qualifiers Canada, Mexico and the United States.

The Caribbean’s two berths in the eight-team CONCACAF finals are to be decided November 24-28 between Trinidad & Tobago, Cuba, Suriname and host St. Kitts and Nevis.

CONCACAF rivals Mexico, Costa Rica to face off in Pan Am semifinals 

Host Mexico will face Costa Rica, and Argentina will face Uruguay on Wednesday in the men’s semifinals at the Pan American Games in Guadalajara, Mexico.

After a win over Ecuador and a draw against Trinidad & Tobago, Mexico routed Uruguay 5-2 on Sunday to finish on top of Group A.

Costa Rica upset Brazil 3-1 on Sunday to place second in Group B behind Argentina.

Trinidad missed its chance to join Mexico from Group A, settling for a 1-1 draw against Uruguay on Tuesday and finishing one point behind the South Americans for the second and last berth. It was Trinidad’s third 1-1 draw in as many games.

Trinidad, Caymans, Cuba, Jamaica advance to second round of Caribbean qualifying

Brianna Ryce and Janelle McGee scored a pair of goals apiece to lead Trinidad & Tobago to a 8-0 victory over Suriname on Saturday, sending it and the Cayman Islands to the second round of Caribbean qualifying for the CONCACAF Under-20 Women Championship.

Trinidad & Tobago finished atop three-team Group B with six points, three better than the Caymans. Suriname lost both games by a combined 12-0 and was eliminated. Cuba and Jamaica also assured themselves of advancing in Group A.

Both teams currently have three points and will decide the group winner on Tuesday. All four teams, plus four more from two other groups, will move into a second group stage set for December 5-12.

Guatemala finishes fifth at 2011 Grand Prix de Futsal

Guatemala defeated Paraguay 5-3 after two extra time periods to finish fifth at the 2011 Grand Prix de Futsal in Manaus, Brazil on Saturday.

The only CONCACAF team to reach the quarterfinals, the Chapines dropped a 4-2 decision to Iran in the ‘Final Eight’ last Thursday before topping Uruguay on penalties 8-7 after a 4-4 draw in the consolation brackets the next day.

Elsewhere on Saturday, Costa Rica concluded tournament play with a 1-0 win over the USA in the 15th place match. The host captured its sixth Grand Prix de Futsal title in seven years with a 2-1 win over Russia in extra time in the 2011 finale over the weekend.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *