Canada announces WNT Roster for Cyprus Camp

Canadian Soccer Association

Canadian Soccer Association

Canada has announced its roster for the upcoming pre-tournament camp in Larnaka, Cyprus in advance of the 2012 Cyprus Women’s Cup. 

National head coach John Herdman has selected 26 players for the 10-day camp, with only 21 players expected to be retained for the actual tournament which opens 28 February with a match against Scotland.

This marks Canada’s fifth participation at the Cyprus Women’s Cup, today a 12-team tournament featuring key international teams from around the world. Canada has reached the championship final every year, bringing home trophies in 2008, 2010 and 2011. Canada’s all-time record at the Cyprus Women’s Cup is 13 wins, one draw and one loss. 

Of the 26 players invited to the pre-tournament camp, head coach Herdman has already worked with 23 of those players at at least one camp since September 2011. All 20 players that won silver at the 2012 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying tournament in January have been called into Cyprus, along with Marie-Eve Nault, Stephanie Labbé and Emily Zurrer. 

Bryanna McCarthy gets the call under Herdman for the first time while Tiffany Cameron and Ranee Premji are invited into the women’s “A” program for the first time. 

Cameron joined Canada’s national youth program at age 14 and benefitted from 137 days in youth camps from 2006 to 2009. Premji, meanwhile, joined Canada’s national youth program at age 16 and has benefitted from 34 days in youth camps from 2007 to 2009. Both players are currently attending universities in USA, with Cameron enrolled at Ohio State University and Premji enrolled at the University of North Carolina. 

From last year’s Cyprus Cup-winning squad, 19 of 22 players are in Cyprus with hopes of defending the Canadian title. Sinclair is Canada’s all-time leader in this competition with 11 goals in 15 matches. 

Canada is currently preparing for the London 2012 Women’s Olympic Football Tournament. The 12-team women’s competition runs 25 July to 9 August while the 16-team men’s competition runs 26 July to 11 August. The Official Draw for both competitions will take place on 24 April 2012. 

GK- Stephanie Labbé | SWE / Piteå IF 
GK- Karina LeBlanc | Unattached / sans club 
GK- Erin McLeod | SWE / Dalsjöfors G.o.I.F. 
CB- Candace Chapman | Unattached / sans club 
CB- Carmelina Moscato | SWE / Piteå IF 
CB- Shannon Woeller | USA / Rutgers University 
CB- Emily Zurrer | SWE / Dalsjöfors G.o.I.F. 
FB- Melanie Booth | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC 
FB- Robyn Gayle | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC 
FB- Bryanna McCarthy | CAN / Toronto Lady Lynx 
FB- Marie-Eve Nault | CAN / Ottawa Fury 
FB- Lauren Sesselmann | Unattached / sans club 
FB- Chelsea Stewart | USA / UCLA 
FB- Rhian Wilkinson | NOR / Lillestrøm SK Kvinner 
M- Kaylyn Kyle | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC 
M- Alyscha Mottershead | USA / Syracuse University 
M- Kelly Parker | Unattached / sans club 
M- Ranee Premji | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC 
M- Sophie Schmidt | Unattached / sans club 
M- Desiree Scott | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC 
M- Brittany Timko | Unattached / sans club 
F- Chelsea Buckland | USA / Oregon State University 
F- Tiffany Cameron | USA / Ohio State University 
F- Christina Julien | SWE / Jitex BK 
F- Christine Sinclair | Unattached / sans club 
F- Melissa Tancredi | SWE / Piteå IF

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *