Toronto FC Announces Roster Moves

Toronto FC has exercised the contract options on goalkeeper Caleb Patterson-Sewell; defenders Ashtone Morgan, Drew Moor, Nick Hagglund, Julian Dunn and midfielders Jay Chapman, Ryan Telfer and Aidan Daniels.

Toronto FC has not exercised options on goalkeeper Clint Irwin and forwards Tosaint Ricketts. Defender Jason Hernandez and forward Jordan Hamilton will both be out of contract at the end of the year. Hernandez is eligible for free agency. 

The loan deals for defender Auro Jr. and forward Lucas Janson will both expire on December 31. In addition, Toronto FC has agreed to terminate the contract of midfielder Ager Aketxe by mutual consent.

Fourteen players remain under contract for the 2019 season: goalkeeper Alex Bono; defenders Justin Morrow, Chris Mavinga, Gregory van der Wiel, Eriq Zavaleta; midfielders Michael Bradley, Jonathan Osorio, Victor Vazquez, Marky Delgado, Liam Fraser and forwards Sebastian Giovinco, Jozy Altidore, Jon Bakero and Ayo Akinola.

“We are happy to bring back a high number of players that have contributed to our club over the past couple seasons as we continue to shape our roster ahead of the 2019 MLS season and Concacaf Champions League,” said Toronto FC Sr. Vice-President, Soccer Operations & General Manager Tim Bezbatchenko. “We will continue to have discussions with the players on loan and whose options were not exercised and those out of contract. We want to also acknowledge Clint, Tosaint and Jason for their contributions to the club both on and off the field. They have played an instrumental part in building our club into one that competes for championships.”

Toronto FC’s 2019 roster as it currently stands:

Goalkeepers (2): Alex Bono, Caleb Patterson-Sewell 

Defenders (8): Julian Dunn, Nick Hagglund, Chris Mavinga, Drew Moor, Ashtone Morgan, Justin Morrow, Gregory van der Wiel, Eriq Zavaleta

Midfielders (8): Michael Bradley, Jay Chapman, Aidan Daniels, Marky Delgado, Liam Fraser, Jonathan Osorio, Ryan Telfer, Victor Vazquez

Forwards (4): Ayo Akinola, Jozy Altidore, Jon Bakero, Sebastian Giovinco

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *