Canada MNT announces roster for Australia friendly

Canadian Soccer Association

This article was last updated on April 16, 2022

Canadian Soccer AssociationCanada MNT will take on Australia in a Men’s International Friendly on 15 October (kickoff 20.00 local time) at Craven Cottage (Fulham FC) in London, ENG. Head Coach Benito Floro has selected his 21-player roster, featuring a mix of Europe and Major League Soccer (MLS) based players.

“This camp and match against Australia will be important as we continue to work on establishing our team’s tactical structure,” said Floro.

“With each camp we need to continue to build towards specific goals and maintain a certain quality of play. Australia is a strong opponent and will test our latest key learnings.”

All 21 players featured in the September camp and matches against Mauritania. In addition, Floro invited Michael Petrasso and Dylan Carreiro from Queen Park Rangers Elite Development Squad to participate in the training camp.

The Canadians last squared off against Australia during the 1993 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers. Canada was eliminated from FIFA World Cup Qualifiers after falling 1-4 to Australia on kicks from the penalty mark. After each home side won 2:1 in the home-and-away series, the last match went to extra time and then kicks from the penalty mark to decide a series winner.

GK – Milan Borjan | TUR / Sivasspor
GK – Lars Hirschfeld | NOR / Vålerenga Fotball
D – Doneil Henry | CAN / Toronto FC
D – Dejan Jaković | USA / D.C. United
D – Adam Straith | GER / Wehen Wiesbaden
D – Marcel de Jong | GER / FC Augsburg
D – David Edgar | ENG / Burnley FC
D – Ashtone Morgan | CAN / Toronto FC
D/M – Nik Ledgerwood | SWE / Hammarby Fotboll
M – Kyle Bekker | CAN / Toronto FC
M – Dylan Carreiro | ENG / Queens Park Rangers
M – Julian de Guzman | GRE / Skoda Xanthi
M – Atiba Hutchinson | TUR / Besiktas
M – Jonathan Osorio | CAN / Toronto FC
M – Samuel Piette | GER / Fortuna Düsseldorf
M/F – Stefan Cebara | Unattached / sans club
M/F – Dwayne De Rosario | USA / D.C. United
M/F – Michael Petrasso | ENG / Queens Park Rangers
M/F – Russell Teibert | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
F – Marcus Haber | ENG / Notts County
F – Iain Hume | ENG / Preston North End
F – Simeon Jackson | GER / Eintracht Braunschweig
F – Tosaint Ricketts | NOR / Sandnes Ulf

Share with friends
You can publish this article on your website as long as you provide a link back to this page.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.