Canada has chosen: Top 25 immigrants of 2010

This article was last updated on May 19, 2022

Canada: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…
USA: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…

Canadian Immigrant Magazine and RBC Honour Canada’s Top 25

A gold-medal sprinter, an award-winning reporter and the chief organizer of the 2010 Winter Olympicsare among the winners of the second annual Top 25 Canadian Immigrant awards presented by Canadian Immigrant Magazine and sponsored by RBC. This national people’s choice program celebrates the untold stories and remarkable achievements of outstanding Canadian immigrants.

More than 20,000 Canadians voted online for their top choices. The award recipients will be honoured at ceremonies held in Toronto on May 25 and in Vancouver on May 27. The awards program is also sponsored by Rogers.

“The 75 semi finalists are immigrants who have all contributed to this country in a big way,” said Nick Noorani, Founder/Publisher, Canadian Immigrant Magazine. “Our winners come from six provinces which shows how much immigrants love every corner of Canada and its people! I am particularly thrilled that we have winners this year from Saskatchewan, Quebec, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick, attesting to the true national stature of these awards.”

The Top 25 winners will receive a commemorative certificate, a lapel pin as well as a $500 donation towards an authorized Canadian charity of their choice. Winners will be featured on and in the June 2010 edition of Canadian Immigrant Magazine.
“Everyone who was nominated truly had a noteworthy story and RBC is extremely pleased to recognize and celebrate of some of Canada’s most outstanding individuals,” said Camon Mak, director, Multicultural Markets, RBC. “We hope that each winner’s story will inspire others to achieve their respective goals.”
This year’s awards program received hundreds of submissions over a two-month period, from which 75 semi-finalists were shortlisted by a panel of Canadian Immigrant Magazine judges.

The awards program was also supported by Toronto Star, Metro, Sing Tao, Omni and RJ1200.
Among the winners of this distinguished award, 10 comes from South Asian community.

Vasdev Chanchlani
(India / Mississauga, Ontario) is an entrepreneur, philanthropist and community leader who has made notable contributions to Canada, including co-founding the Canada India Foundation.

Charan Gill
(India / Surrey, B.C.) is executive director of PICS immigrant settlement agency and is a strong advocate for immigrant farmers and seniors.

Aditya Jha
(India / Mississauga, Ontario) is a successful entrepreneur with several businesses to his name, from computers to confections, and is a prolific philanthropist and community volunteer, particularly in the area of aboriginal relations.

Vinod Karna
(India / Markham, Ontario) is head of diversity recruitment for Sun Life Financial Inc., inspiring many immigrants to succeed in Canada. He also volunteers for various charitable organizations.

Dr. Lalita Malhotra
(India / Prince Albert, Saskatchewan), a family practitioner, is known as the “Angel of the North” for her good works. For the last 35 years, she has been a role model and advocate for all women in her community, particularly the First Nations of northern Saskatchewan.

Sumith Kahanda Rathmalapage
(Sri Lanka / Saskatoon, Saskatchewan), an environmental engineer, dedicates time to volunteering in the community and has created a special website for newcomers to Saskatoon.
Balwant Sanghera (India / Richmond, B.C.) is a retired school psychologist, president of Richmond Multicultural Concerns Society and an advocate against violence among South Asian youth.

Vijay Sappani
(India / Toronto), a national accounts manager in the pharmaceutical industry, helps new immigrants as a mentor, and was the founding chair of Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce — Young Professionals, as well as general manager of desiFEST and South Asian Music Week.

Dr. Asha Seth
(India / Toronto), an obstetrician and gynecologist, has an extensive history of outstanding leadership and dedication to a broad array of charities. She is founder of the North Indian Medical and Dental Association of Canada (NIMDAC) Foundation.

Parag Tandon
(India / Toronto) is the director of annual giving at Humber River Regional Hospital. He launched a province-wide diversity portfolio for the Canadian National Institute for the Blind and has led the United Way Toronto outreach for the South Asian Community for four years.
Other winners include:

Vivienne Poy
(Hong Kong / Toronto)

David Lin
(Taiwan / Toronto)

Dr. Joyce Madigane
(Zimbabwe / Charlottetown)

Hadi Mahabadi
(Iran / Mississauga)

Dr. Jagessar Das
(Guyana / Surrey)

Rafael Fabregas
(Philippines / Toronto)

John Furlong
(Ireland / Vancouver)

Donovan Bailey
(Jamaica / Toronto)

Raffi Cavoukian
(Egypt / Salt Spring Island

Ian Hanomansing
(Trinidad and Tobago / Vancouver/Toronto)

Maggie Ip
(Hong Kong / Vancouver)

Sultan Jessa
(Tanzania / Kirkland)

Fulvia Fadigas de Souza
(Brazil / Vancouver)

Yasuko Tanaka
(Japan / Saint John)

Suchart Yodkerepauprai
(Thailand / Toronto) 
Share with friends
You can publish this article on your website as long as you provide a link back to this page.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.