Canada to Impose New Sanctions against Ukrainian Officials

In an announcement made on Thursday, Canada revealed its decision to impose new sanctions against top Ukraine government officials as clashes continue between protesters and riot police. According to the announcement made by Prime Minister Stephen Harper on Thursday afternoon, he unveiled that Canada has decided to expand a visa ban against top officials in Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych’s government, including those previously introduced on Jan. 28.

Written statement of Mr. Harper says that the expanded ban “will prevent senior members of the Ukrainian Government and other individuals, who bear political responsibility for the violence, from travelling to Canada.”  Although it is unclear which government members and other individuals are part of the sanction, Canada also announced “economic sanctions” on the Ukrainian government. Furthermore, Canada issued a statement that declined to say what those economic sanctions would be.  Mr. Harper mentioned that “it is our hope that these serious steps will convince the Ukrainian government to seek a peaceful resolution to the crisis. We will continue to monitor developments in Ukraine, and, with our international allies, consider further options.”

Meanwhile, Citizenship and Immigration Minister Chris Alexander mentioned in a brief statement issued to reporters on Thursday he alleged that “it’s now clear more needs to be done to demonstrate Canada will no longer tolerate this violence and blatant disregard for human rights and democracy.” It was added that “Canada is sending a clear message to President Yanukovych and his supporters: You are not welcome in Canada.”

Related Articles

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *