Dr. Gagan Bhalla receives Hind Rattan Award

The NRI Welfare Society of India awarded Dr.Gagan Bhalla, an Orthodontist from Mississauga, the prestigious Hind Rattan Award.  The Advisory board, which includes several prominent personalities, including the former Prime Minister H D Deva Gowda and several former cabinet ministers, selected the recipients, who were honoured at the 31st International Congress of NRI’s held from January 24 to 26 in New Delhi.
Those present at the congress included Justice Markanday Katju, Chairman, Press Council of India, Abhishek Manu Singhvi, M.P. and Chairman, Legal & Human Rights Deptt., K.C. Pant, Former Defence Minister, Kapil Sibal, Union Minister for Human Resource Development & Information Technology, Dr. Bhishma Narain Singh, Former Governer, Oscar Fernandes, Member of Parliament; Tarlochan Singh, Member of Parliament; Dr. G.V.G. Krishnamurthy, former Elections Commissioner, and Joginder Singh, Former Director C.B.I.
Dr. Gagan Bhalla graduated from the University of New York at Buffalo with his D.D.S., completed his orthodontic program from St. Louis University, and is certified by the Royal College of Dental Surgeons in Ontario. Over the past 15 years he has established a private practice in Mississauga, where he has been making a difference in the lives of many children and adults by giving them a healthy and confident smile. Active in continuing education, Dr. Bhalla is also an active member of the Canadian Association of Orthodontists and American Association of Orthodontists. 
He has been actively involved with many fundraising activities including Child Haven International, which assists children and women in need in several countries. He is an active member and former Vice-President of the Mississauga Erin Mills Lions Club.He has served as a Board Member for the Credit Valley Hospital Foundation.
He is currently the Vice President and Board of Director for Patanjali YogPeeth (PYP) Canada. The noble vision of PYP Trust is to create a disease free world by adopting a scientific approach to the ancient Indian science of Yoga and Ayurveda.PYP Canada recognizes good health is human beings birthright. In accordance, Dr. Bhalla is dedicated to make Canada one of the healthiest nations in the world.
Dr. Bhalla conducts free Yoga-Pranayam classes, interactive workshops, seminars and is a speaker for communities, organizations, and schools to promote good health and self-well being. Under his leadership over 700 Yoga teachers have been trained and over 150 free yoga classes are being conducted per week in Canada. Through these classes thousands of people have been guided to attain healthier, happier and stress- free lives. He has been featured in newspapers, radio and television interviews to promote Yoga-Pranayam.
Dr. Bhalla has been recognized with such awards as; Humanitarian of the Year Award presented by the Indo-Canada Chamber of Commerce, the Melvin Jones Fellow presented by the Lions Club International Foundation for his dedication to humanitarian services. Certificate of Recognition for his promotion of yoga presented by Member of Parliament Hon. Gurbax Malhi.  Bharat Gaurav Award of Excellence was presented by SONA, for his dedication and community services.  The Mississauga Erin Mills Lions Club presented him with the Lion of the Year award. 
Dr. Bhalla also enjoys the art of photography, traveling, reading and playing golf.
The Hind Rattan Award (In Hindi means "Jewel of India") is given yearly to about 40 members of the worldwide Indian diasporas by the NRI Welfare Society of India at a ceremony in connection with the yearly "International Congress of Non Resident Indians" on and around the Indian Republic Day (January 26) in New Delhi.
This award is considered prestigious, as is shown by the association of prominent personalities, including present and past members of the Indian Government, not only with the award ceremony, but also with the advisory board of the Society itself; among those associated with the board or present or past award ceremonies are the former Prime Ministers H.D. Deve Gowda and I.K. Gujral, ministers such as K.C. Pant and Oscar Fernandes and former Election Commissioner G.V.G. Krishnamurthy.

Article viewed on Oye! Times at www.oyetimes.com

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *