Governor Establishes Additional Counties In Jonglei, South Sudan

This article was last updated on May 28, 2022

Canada: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…
USA: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…

The new Governor of Jonglei Stat, Col. Philip Aguer Panyang has issued an order for the establishment of additional Counties in the State.

Governor of Jonglei State Col. Philip Aguer in Bor [Photo| Juuk Mading]

By Juuk Othana Mading

The State order No. 12/2016 issued on Monday has established eight [8] new Counties on top of the then three of Bor, Twic East and Duk in the region.

The order was in response to the demand of people for the creation of more Counties, and referencing to resolution No. 2/2016 of the Council of States for the creation of new Counties in the States of South Sudan.

The Government of Jonglei State announced the creation of the following Counties;

Bor South County [Kolnynag], Bor East County [Anyidi], Bor Central county [Makuach], Bor West County [Baidit] and Bor North County [Jalle].

Twic North County [Panyangor], Twic Central County [Wangulei] and Twic South [Adubaar but temporarily in Maar] Duk Padiet County [Padiet],  Duk Payuel [Payuel] and Panyang County [Pajut].

The same order has also established Bor municipality with its headquarters in Bor town.
According to the document obtained by Gurtong, the current Commissioners of the former three Counties of Bor, Twic East and Duk shall continue to run the eleven Counties until a further order is issued.

The three Commissioners are; Isaac Mamer Ruk of Bor County, Dau Akoi Jurkucch of Twic East County and Michael Malual Wuor of Duk County respectively.


– See more at:

Share with friends
You can publish this article on your website as long as you provide a link back to this page.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.