Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag selected in ICC’s dream test team

Indian batting ace Sachin Tendulkar & opener Virender Sehwag are in the list of the cricketers through which people can select the members of the best test team of all times through online voting. This historic match will be played between India & England from July 21 to 25. And the most interesting fact is that, ICC has included the whole world to select the dream team.
Sehwag got selected in the team as an opener, whereas Sachin got into the team as a middle-order batsman. With these cricketers, the one of the greatest batsman of India, Sunil Gavaskar also got space in the team. In this team, no other Indian bowlers or wicketkeeper got selected. Only the 1983 world cup team winning captain, Kapil Dev got the opportunity to be the part of the team as an all-rounder. Legendary spinners Bishen Singh Bedi & Anil Kumble are also in the team. Sir Donald Bradman & West Indian star cricketer, Vivian Richards are in the team as the middle-order batsmen. With them the Australian attacking wicketkeeper cum batsman, Adam Gilchrist & South African wicketkeeper, Mark Boucher are the competitors.
ICC has chosen 60 players in five various categories like, openers, allrounders, middle-orders, wicketkeeper, fast bowlers & spinner. And ICC also wants the fans of cricket should come up to vote & select the dream team. The fans will be instructed to select two openers, three middle-order batsmen, one wicketkeeper, three fast bowlers & one spinner. The dream team will be announced during the India vs England test match in England.
Haroon Lorgat said in a statement that, “All the cricketers whom we have selected in the team has inspired us throughout the ages. 2,000th test match will be the day when we can remember them. With so many legends of the game to choose from, it is a very difficult task & I’m sure one that will lead to plenty of fond recollection & great debate.” The ICC believes that test match is the best way to recollect those special cricket moments. And ICC also want to maintain the gravity of cricket for the next 2000 matches.
The shortlisted dream team is

Opening batsman:
Geoffery Boycott, Sunil Gavaskar, Gordon Greenidge, Desmond Haynes, Jack Hobbs, Len Hutton, Hanif Mohammad, Virender Sehwag, Herbert Sutcliffe, Victor

Middle-order batsmen:
Don Bradman, Greg Chappell, Wally Hammond, George Headley, Brian Lara, Javed Miandad, Graeme Pollock, Ricky Ponting, Viv Richards, Sachin Tendulkar.

Ian Botham, Kapil Dev, Aubrey Faulkner, Richard Hadlee, Jacques Kallis, Imran Khan, Keith Miller, Wilfred Rhodes, Gary Sobers, Frank Worrell.

Les Ames, Mark Boucher, Jeff Dujon, Godfrey Evans, Andy Flower, Adam Gilchrist, Alan Knott, Rod Marsh, Clyde Walcott, Wasim Bari.

Fast bowlers:
Curtley Ambrose, Sydney Barnes, Michael Holding, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Malcolm Marshall, Glenn McGrath, Fred Trueman, Courtney Walsh, Wasim Akram.

Bishen Bedi, Richie Benaud, Lance Gibbs, Clarrie Grimmett, Jim Laker, Anil Kumble, Muttiah Muralitharan, Bill O’Reilly, Derek Underwood, Shane Warne.

Article viewed at: Oye! Times at


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *