CONCACAF Under-17 Women’s draw to take place on Sunday

The Confederation of North, Central and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced Thursday that the draw for its 2012 Under-17 Women’s Championship will be conducted on Sunday (Feb. 19) at the Confederation’s Miami offices. 

The competition will take place May 2-12 in Guatemala City’s Estadio Cementos Progreso and the top three teams will qualify for the 2012 FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup to be played September 22-October 13 in Azerbaijan. 

The draw will split eight finalists into two, four-team groups.  Guatemala and Mexico have been seeded into Group A and Group B, respectively. Defending champion Canada and the United States will be placed into Pot 1, while Central American champion Panama and Caribbean champion Trinidad & Tobago will go into Pot 2.  In Pot 3 will be Jamaica and the Bahamas. 

The top two teams from each group advance to the semifinals, with the eventual finalists each earning tickets to the World Cup.  The third-place match will decide the final World Cup berth.  

Group A matches will be played on May 2, 4 and 6, while Group B action will take place on May 3, 5 and 7.  The semifinals will be played on May 10 and the final and third place match on Saturday, May 12. 

A match schedule will be released by the end of next week.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *