Rebecca Marino Named 2010 Most Outstanding Female Tennis Player

Nineteen-year-old had breakthrough professional season
Tennis Canada announced Monday that Vancouver-native Rebecca Marino has been named 2010 Most Outstanding Female Player. The 19-year-old enjoyed a strong tennis season that included a rise of more than 80 spots in the WTA rankings, an 18-match winning streak, three consecutive tournament titles and a second-round berth at the U.S. Open. Marino became Canada’s number one-ranked singles player on October 18, 2010.
“Rebecca had a fantastic run to close out the 2010 tennis season and has given Canadian tennis fans much optimism for next year,” said Michael S. Downey, president and chief executive officer, Tennis Canada. “Her run in New York brought Rebecca international respect and she followed that success with one of the best winning streaks in recent memory. In addition to her on-court power, Rebecca possesses a genuine character and strong work ethic that all young Canadian tennis players should admire.”
Marino finished the 2010 campaign with a 42-22 (.656) record. She won more matches (25) than any other player during the final three months of the season (including Grand Slam, WTA and ITF matches). The big-serving Canadian captured ITF $50,000 tournament titles in Saguenay, Quebec; Troy, Alabama; and Kansas City.
“I’m honoured to receive this award and greatly appreciate the support I’ve received from my family, friends, Tennis Canada, Tennis BC and fans,” said Marino. “I have a lot of work over the coming weeks to prepare for the start of the 2011 season but look forward to taking the next big step in my career.”
Marino qualified for her first Grand Slam main draw at the U.S. Open and defeated Ksenia Pervak of Russia in the first round to set up the match that she is most famous for in her young career – Arthur Ashe Stadium against American great Venus Williams. With an international television audience watching, the Canadian gave Williams all she could handle, losing 7-6(3), 6-3 in the second round. She earned the respect of her opponent and praise from several in the tennis world.
Playing against Williams in New York may have been Marino’s best-known match, but the most significant win of her young career came the following week at the Bell Challenge in Quebec City where she upset former Wimbledon finalist and tournament top-seed Marion Bartoli of France 6-3, 6-1 in the second round.
In addition to the award, Marino will be honoured during Rogers Cup presented by National Bank in Toronto this summer and Tennis Canada will make a $1,000 contribution on behalf of Marino to the Rogers Rookie Tour in memory of Dr. Donald Rix through the Tennis Matters fund development campaign.
Canada is currently enjoying historic depth in its high performance program. Six women are ranked among the Top 250 players in the world and Canada will face Serbia on the road in World Group II Fed Cup action February 5-6, 2011.
The Most Outstanding Male Player Award will be announced in the near future. Remaining Tennis Canada Excellence Awards will be named in early 2011.


Year Male Player of the Year Female Player of the Year
1982 Rejean Genois (Laval, QC) Marjorie Blackwood (Whistler, BC)
1983 Glenn Michibata (Toronto, ON) Carling Bassett (Toronto, ON)
1984 Martin Wostenholme (Toronto, ON) Carling Bassett (Toronto, ON)
1985 Glenn Michibata (Toronto, ON) Carling Bassett (Toronto, ON)
1986 Andrew Sznajder (Toronto, ON) Helen Kelesi (Toronto, ON)
1987 Grant Connell (Vancouver, BC) Helen Kelesi (Toronto, ON)
1988 Andrew Sznajder (Toronto, ON) Jill Hetherington (Brampton, ON)
1989 Andrew Sznajder (Toronto, ON) Helen Kelesi (Toronto, ON)
1990 Grant Connell (Vancouver, BC) Helen Kelesi (Toronto, ON)
1991 Grant Connell (Vancouver, BC) Patricia Hy (Montreal, QC)
1992 Grant Connell (Vancouver, BC) Patricia Hy (Montreal, QC)
1993 Greg Rusedski (Montreal, QC) Patricia Hy (Montreal, QC)
1994 Sebastien Lareau (Montreal, QC) Jana Nejedly (Vancouver, BC)
1995 Grant Connell (Vancouver, BC) Patricia Hy-Boulais (Montreal, QC)
1996 Sebastien Lareau (Montreal, QC) Patricia Hy-Boulais (Montreal, QC)
1997 Daniel Nestor (Toronto, ON) Patricia Hy- Boulais (Montreal, QC)
1998 No record of award  
1999 No record of award  
2000 Daniel Nestor & Sebastien Lareau Sonya Jeyaseelan (New Westminster, BC)
2001 Daniel Nestor (Toronto) Jana Nejedly (Vancouver, BC)
2002 Frederic Niemeyer (Sherbrooke, QC) Maureen Drake (Toronto, ON)
2003 Daniel Nestor (Toronto, ON) Maureen Drake (Toronto, ON)
2004 Daniel Nestor (Toronto, ON) Aleksandra Wozniak (Blainville, QC)
2005 Daniel Nestor (Toronto, ON) Stephanie Dubois (Laval, QC)
2006 Frank Dancevic (Niagara Falls, ON) Aleksandra Wozniak (Blainville, QC)
2007 Daniel Nestor (Toronto, ON) Stephanie Dubois (Laval, QC)
2008 Daniel Nestor (Toronto, ON) Aleksandra Wozniak (Blainville, QC)
2009 Daniel Nestor (Toronto, ON) Aleksandra Wozniak (Blainville, QC)
2010 To be announced Rebecca Marino (Vancouver, BC)
Related Articles

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *