IIFA announces the 2011 Technical Award winners

This article was last updated on June 18, 2022

Canada: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…
USA: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…

The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) today announced the winners of the technical awards categories for the IIFA Awards 2011. The trophies will be presented to the winners during the Videocon IIFA Weekend in Toronto, Canada. Band Baaja Baaraat, Dabangg and Robot led the technical winners tally with three awards each.

Maneesh Sharma’s Band Baaja Baaraat won the awards for Editing by Namrata Rao, Song Recording for Vijay Dayal’s Ainvayi Ainvayi and Costume Designing by Niharika Khan. The Rajnikanth starrer Robot walked away with Best Art Director for Sabu Cyril who incidentally won the same award at IIFA 2010 as well. Robot also won the awards for Special Effects by Indian Artists and Make-up by Banu.

The Salman Khan starrer, Dabangg won an award for Choreography for the hit song, Munni Badnaam Hui choreographed by Farah Khan, and Leslie Fernandes who won for Best song recording. The film also won the award for Best Action by S. Vijayan.

The award for Best Cinematographer went to Sudeep Chatterjee for Guzaarish and Shankar, Ehsaan, Loy won the award for the best background score for My Name Is Khan while Pritam Das won for Best Sound Recording for Love, Sex aur Dhoka.

The IIFA Awards Voting process is a stringent and methodical procedure that is closely monitored by PriceWaterHouse Coopers (PwC), the official auditors for the event. The popular category nominations will then be available for the global audience to participate in the voting process. The final winners of the IIFA Awards are revealed on the night of the Awards ceremony when the envelope is opened onstage, in front of the live audience. The results are surrounded by secrecy and the participation of the film industry and fans along with credibility of the voting process is one of the key parameters of this prestigious celebration.

Each year, industry stalwarts, actors, directors, producers, technicians and composers among others cast their votes, which decide the nominations for the performance categories of the awards. The numbers that come in to vote each year vary between 500 to a thousand, but the twelfth year celebrations saw an astounding 1500+ industry members participating in the IIFA Voting Weekend.

The nominations for the popular categories of the IIFA Awards 2011 will open for public voting on the 10th of May. Indian Cinema fans worldwide can vast their votes for those they consider deserving. The votes from the online polling will be tallied by PWC and will only be announced on the night of the IIFA Awards 2011 at the Rogers Centre, Toronto.

In its twelfth year, IIFA will make its North American debut in Ontario, Canada from the 23rd to the 25th of June, 2011. IIFA gives the Indian film fraternity an opportunity to reach audiences in international territories while promoting the same on a global platform. It is a pioneering endeavor that also establishes a symbiotic relationship between India and the host
country in areas such as tourism, culture and trade.

IIFA Technical Winners List


Sudeep Chatterjee for Guzaarish


Namrata Rao for Band Baaja Baaraat

Art Director

Sabu Cyril for Robot


Farah Khan – Munni Badnam for Dabangg


S. Vijayan for Dabangg

Sound Recording

Pritam Das for Love, Sex Aur Dhokha

Song Recording

Vijay Dayal – Ainvayi Ainvayi for Band Baaja Baaraat

Sound Re-recording

Leslie Fernandes for Dabangg

Special Effects

Indian Artists for Robot

Background Score

Shankar, Ehsaan, Loy for My Name Is Khan

Costume Designing

Niharika Khan for Band Baaja Baaraat


Banu (For Rajnikant) for Robot

Share with friends
You can publish this article on your website as long as you provide a link back to this page.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.