South Sudan Becomes Member Of G77

This article was last updated on May 27, 2022

Canada: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…
USA: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…

The Minister said this shortly after landing at Juba International Airport while returning to the capital, Juba, from New York.

“That is a great move forward for South Sudan in the family of Nations,” he applauded.

The Group of 77, also known as “G77” at the United Nation, is a loose coalition of developing nations, designed to promote its members’ collective economic interests and create an enhanced joint negotiating capacity at the United Nations.

There were 77 founding members of the organization, but by November 2013 the organization had sinceexpanded to 133 member countries.

Bolivia currently holds the Chairmanship for 2014.

The group was founded on June 15, 1964, by the “Joint Declaration of the Seventy-Seven Countries,” issued at the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).
The first major meeting was in Algiers in 1967, where the Charter of Algiers was adopted and the basis for permanent institutional structures was begun.

There are Chapters of the Group of 77 in Rome (FAO), Vienna (UNIDO), Paris (UNESCO), Nairobi (UNEP) and the Group of 24 in Washington, D.C. (International Monetary Fund and World Bank)

Share with friends
You can publish this article on your website as long as you provide a link back to this page.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.