ECP announces the list of candidates for the parliament

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) announced the list of selected candidates for the house of parliament on Friday. It selected a total of 98 candidates to contest for 43 seats.

ECP announced that it received 166 applications for 54 seats. The election date announced by the commission is 2nd March. The elected candidates are scheduled to take oath and join office on the 12th of March, 2012.

At present, there are 100 members in the parliament which have risen to 104 after the passing of the 18th Amendment which requires minority representation from each province in the parliament. According to the seat allocation in the senate, eight seats belong to FATA, four to the center, and 23 each to all four provinces. Each province has one seat reserved for minorities, four for women, 14 general seats, and four for technocrats.

As per the statement of ECP on Friday, only eight members will be contesting for Punjab’s general seats since the minorities, women and technocrat seats from Punjab remain unopposed. 25 participants from Khyber PakhtoonKha, 41 from Balochistan, and 13 candidates from Sindh will initiate their campaigns.

The unopposed elected candidates announced by ECP are Usman Saif Ullah, Mushahid Hussain Sayed, Aitzaz Ahsen, Ishaq Dar, Nuzhat Siddiq, Khalida Parveen, Kamran Michael, Abdul Hafeez Sheikh, and Farogh Naseem.

Article viewed on Oye! Times at 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *