Canada to Participate in XVI Pan American Games Guadalajara 2011

Canadian Soccer Association

Canadian Soccer Association

Canada will compete in the group phase of the XVI Pan American Games Guadalajara 2011 Women’s Football Tournament this 18-22 October. Canada will play three group matches in five days, with the top-two teams of two separate groups advancing to the semi-final stage on 25 October. The women’s championship match will be played 28 October.

Canada’s three group matches are Tuesday 18 October against Costa Rica (12.00 ET / 11.00 local / 09.00 PT), Thursday 20 October against Argentina (11.00 ET / 10.00 local / 08.00 PT), and Saturday 22 October against Brazil (21.00 ET / 20.00 local / 18.00 PT). All matches will be played at the Estadio Omnilife in Guadalajara.


Tuesday 18 October 2011

11.00 (local) – Canada – Costa Rica

14.00 – Colombia – Trinidad and Tobago

17.00 – Argentina – Brazil

21.00 – Mexico – Chile


Thursday 20 October 2011

10.00 (local) – Canada – Argentina

13.00 – Chile – Colombia

17.00 – Brazil – Costa Rica

20.00 – Mexico – Trinidad and Tobago


Saturday 22 October 2011

10.00 (local) – Trinidad and Tobago – Chile

13.00 – Costa Rica – Argentina

17.00 – Mexico – Colombia

20.00 – Brazil – Canada

Canada’s women’s football team features 18 athletes, with Amélia Pietrangelo of Laval, QC the last to join the squad after Brittany Timko pulled out because of injury. Canadian coach John Herdman made the final change just over 24 hours before the opening match of the tournament. The 18-player women’s soccer team roster can be accessed via the Roster tab for each of Canada’s upcoming fixtures.

Canada is the defending bronze medal winner from the last Pan American Games Women’s Football Tournament in 2007. Full reports for each of Canada’s Guadalajara 2011 matches will be posted online at in the coming days.


This coming year’s 2012 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying tournament will take place in Vancouver, BC from 19-29 January at BC Place Stadium. Canada and seven other CONCACAF nations will fight for two available tickets to the London 2012 Women’s Olympic Football Tournament. The opponents are Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Haiti, Mexico, and USA.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *