Pre-Order Bob Dylan The Bootleg Series Vol.12 For Nov 6 2015 Delivery

Bob Dylan The Cutting Edge
Latest – you can pre-order the Bob Dylan Cutting Edge 1965-1966: The Bootleg Series, Vol.12 in 3 versions

By Stephen Pate – The Cutting Edge 1965-1966: Bootleg Series Vol. 12

this year’s version of the annual “all-the-Bob-Dylan-you-can-listen-to” arrives on November 6th, 2015. Links to pre-order from Amazon in the US and the UK are embedded in this story.

Bootleg Vol.12 holds some of the greatest music Dylan recording at the height of his creative genius – Bringing It All Back Home, Highway 61 Revisited, and Blonde on Blonde.

There are 3 versions of 2 CD’s, 6 CD’s and a whopping 18 CD’s containing various studio versions and out takes from Dylan’s famous three mid-1960′ albums.

Of course that was 50 years ago and most music fans today only know this material peripherally. But to many Baby Boomers this is the music of their youth, of the 1960’s cultural revolution and they still care.

Obviously the 18 CD version is for the most obsessive Dylan fans who want to write the next Dylan tome on how he recorded each song on Blonde on Blonde. Track listings for the 2 and 6 CD versions are below.

UPDATE – I think the 18 CD version is a bad buy at $599 US, a bit of opportunistic greed on Dylan’s part. It says: hey there are only a few of my fans left so let’s gouge them. Strictly from an entertainment point of view it’s a snorer. Who is going to put those 18 CDs in rotation? The Cutting Edge The Bootleg Series Vol. 12 Collector’s Edition Box Set $599.99 Ouch!

Does this release replace the annual copyright extension vinyl collections? Those European only releases were hard to get in North America. After 2 weeks of trying, I convinced a record shop in Leeds England to sell me a copy of the 1964 issue for $180. The search was more fun than the 9 vinyl LPs since half of it was very poor sound quality. My wife shook her head and asked: you bought that?

What’s interesting is Bootleg 12 does not contain any concert recordings from the 65/66 era. Some of those have already been issued like the UK tours.

Track Listing The Cutting Edge 1965-1966: Bootleg Series Vol. 12 (2CD)

“The Cutting Edge 1965-1966: The Bootleg Series Volume 12 takes you inside the studio during the recording of those three albums. With a staggering wealth of unreleased songs, outtakes, rehearsals and alternate versions – The Cutting Edge provides a unique insight into a legendary icon’s creative process.

1. 2-CD featuring the best of Bob Dylan’s unreleased studio recordings from 1965 and 1966, Includes alternate versions of songs such as ‘Like A Rolling Stone’, ‘Desolation Row’, ‘Visions Of Johanna’ and ‘Highway 61 Revisited’. Packaged with a 60-page booklet with exclusive photography and liner notes.”

Disc: 1
1. Love Minus Zero/No Limit – Take 2 (1/13/1965) acoustic
2. I ll Keep It with Mine – Take 1 (1/13/1965) piano demo
3. Bob Dylan s 115th Dream – Take 2 (1/13/1965) solo acoustic
4. She Belongs to Me – Take 1 (1/13/1965) solo acoustic
5. Subterranean Homesick Blues – Take 1 (1/14/1965) alternate take
6. Outlaw Blues – Take 2 (1/13/1965) alternate take
7. On the Road Again – Take 4 (1/14/1965) alternate take
8. Farewell, Angelina – Take 1 (1/13/1965) solo acoustic
9. If You Gotta Go, Go Now – Take 2 (1/15/1965) alternate take
10. You Don t Have to Do That – Take 1 (1/13/1965) solo acoustic
11. California – Take 1 (1/13/1965) solo acoustic
12. Mr. Tambourine Man – Take 3 (1/15/1965) with band, incomplete
13. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry – Take 8 (6/15/1965) alternate take
14. Like a Rolling Stone – Take 5 (6/15/1965) rehearsal
15. Like a Rolling Stone – Take 11 (6/16/1965) alternate take
16. Sitting on a Barbed Wire Fence – Take 2 (6/15/1965) unreleased take
17. Medicine Sunday – Take 1 (10/5/1965) early version of Temporary Like Achilles
18. Desolation Row – Take 2 (8/4/1965) piano demo
19. Desolation Row – Take 1 (8/4/1965) alternate take

Disc: 2
1. Tombstone Blues – Take 1 (7/29/1965) alternate take
2. Positively 4th Street – Take 5 (7/29/1965) alternate take
3. Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window – Take 1 (7/30/1965) alternate take
4. Just Like Tom Thumb s Blues – Take 3 (8/2/1965) rehearsal
5. Highway 61 Revisited – Take 3 (8/2/1965) alternate take
6. Queen Jane Approximately – Take 5 (8/2/1965) alternate take
7. Visions of Johanna – Take 5 (11/30/1965) rehearsal
8. She s Your Lover Now – Take 6 (1/21/1966) rehearsal
9. Lunatic Princess – Take 1 (1/27/1966)
10. Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat – Take 8 (2/14/1966) alternate take
11. One of Us Must Know (Sooner or Later) – Take 19 (1/25/1966) alternate take
12. Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again – Take 13 (2/17/1966) alternate take
13. Absolutely Sweet Marie – Take 1 (3/7/1966) alternate take
14. Just Like a Woman – Take 4 (3/8/1966) alternate take
15. Pledging My Time – Take 1 (3/8/1966) alternate take
16. I Want You – Take 4 (3/10/1966) alternate take
17. Highway 61 Revisited Take 7 (8/2/1965) false start

Available from, and

The Amazon UK link is for the 6 CD set. Sorry. The 2 CD set is not listed in the UK yet and the 6 CD set is not listed in the US. There are no listings for the 18 CD set but I will keep on the hunt for that. See The Cutting Edge The Bootleg Series Vol. 12 Collector’s Edition Box Set $599.99 Ouch!

The next story covers the 6 CD box set. Dylan Cutting Edge Box Set Deep Dives Like A Rolling Stone 


From and

By Stephen Pate, NJN Network

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *