Cabinet shuffle: 8 new faces in the cabinet

Today Dr. Manmohan Singh did a reshuffling of the whole cabinet ministry. The controversial minister Jairam Ramesh was removed from the high profile environmental ministry & Verrappa Moily was replaced by Salman Khursheed as the new Law minister. Some of the ministers continued to hold additional charges of other ministries. After huge discussion, Dr. Singh cleared it today those two slots are vacant in the cabinet for the DMK, whose two ministers have resigned.

Singh did not bother the Finance, Defence, Home & Externak Affairs ministry at all. With these ministries he also kept Telecom & Civil Aviation as untouched & as the additional charges. Jairam Ramesh got shifted due to his controversial statements about the government & against the opponent ministry from the environmental ministry to Rural Development from where Vilasrao Deshmukh got replaced to Science & Technology & earth sciences ministry.

Now Salman Khursheed is heading the law ministry because of the embarrassing work of M. Verrappa Moily, & the decisions of the Supreme Court, whereas Trinomool Congress leader Dinesh Trivedi got the railway ministry after the resignation of Mamata Banerjee, who left the rank in lieu of the West Bengal Chief Minister. Beni Prasad Verma got promoted from Minister of State with Independent charge to cabinet minister for steel.

The eight new ministers & three others who were elevated to cabinet rank were sworn-in by President Pratibha Patil, in a gathering in Rastrapati Bhawan where dignitaries like Vice-President hameed Ansari, Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, & leader of opposition Sushma Swaraj.

Article viewed at: Oye! Times at

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *