New Eastern Equatoria State Government Opposed

The SSDF Eastern Equatoria State Chairperson Patrice Bafura Paul. [Gurtong/ Peter Lokale Nakimangole]The South Sudan Democratic Forum (SSDF) has strongly opposed the composition of the newly-reconstituted state government, saying it is a Sudan Peoples’ Liberation Movement (SPLM) government.

In a terse statement SSDF has decried the lack of representation of other political parties in the Brigadier General Louis Lobong Lojore-led state government.

“The formation of the new government doesn’t reflect tolerance, reconciliation, unity and the process of national healing which is much needed at this critical time in the history of our nascent nation of South Sudan”, read part of the statement.

The SSDF Eastern Equatoria State Chairperson of Patrice Bafura Paul who read the statement in Torit said the entire line-up of the newly formed 14 state ministers, County Commissioners and the Advisor on Political Affairs belong to the SPLM.

He castigated the State Governor for failing to fulfil his earlier pledge that he would form an all inclusive Government.

“The new formation of the State Government is biased and contradicts South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardit’s policy of inclusiveness across all the states of the country. The formation of the state government seriously contravenes article 36 of the National Transitional Constitution which stipulates that all levels of government shall promote democratic principles and political pluralism”, said Bafura.

The party questioned the motive behind the appointments, saying such a move would greatly hinder transparency.

The State Transitional Government which was announced and later confirmed by the State Legislative Assembly was sworn into office on 4 April 2012.

Related Articles

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *