Canada’s women’s soccer team coming home to prepare for next international match

With just two weeks to go until Canada’s home Women’s International Friendly soccer match on 30 September, Canada’s women’s national team is coming home after a training camp in Rome, Italy and an away Women’s International Friendly match in Dresden, Germany. Canada will play China PR on Thursday 30 September at BMO Field in Toronto, ON.

For more information on the Canada-Germany match, please visit

Individual tickets to the home Women’s International Friendly match are available now via Ticketmaster ( / 416.872.5000) and the BMO Field box office. Group sales are available via the Ontario Soccer Association. The match, presented by Winners, kicks off at 19.30 (7:30 pm).

As part of Canada’s preparations, it will train in Alliston, ON from 21 September to 28 September. The team then comes to Toronto and has the official training session at BMO Field on 29 September and the Women’s International Friendly match on 30 September.

Also as part of Canada’s homecoming, veterans Diana Matheson, Kara Lang and more than a dozen teammates will take part in a special clinic at the Pine Glen Soccer Complex for the Oakville Soccer Club. The special clinic takes place on 19 September. Both Matheson and Lang are former players with the Oakville Soccer Club.

Canada is steadily preparing for the 2010 CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifier, which runs 28 October to 8 November in Cancun, Mexico. The eight-team competition will automatically qualify two teams for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Germany 2011. The third-place team will advance to a playoff against the fifth-place team from Europe.

This will be the third-straight year in which Canada hosts a Women’s International Friendly match at BMO Field in Toronto. All time, Canada has a record of 26 wins, five draws and 17 losses at home in Canada.

Canada, whose title sponsor is Winners and presenting sponsor is Teck, has one of the best women’s football programs in the world. It has won three continental women’s championships at all levels – the CONCACAF Women’s Championship in 1998, the CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship in 2008, and the CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship in 2010. Since 1995, it has also participated in 11 FIFA/Olympic women’s competitions, including four-straight runs to the FIFA Women’s World Cup since 1995.

Related Articles

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *