28 MPs suspended by the Supreme Court

Due to the failure of getting the 20th Amendment passed from the parliament, the Supreme Court has taken action and suspended membership of 28 of its members.  

The court had given time until the 6th of February to produce evidence for legal protection to the by-polls and as a result disqualified the ministers appointed in the by-elections.

According to the media information, the Supreme Court bench comprised of four judges being led by the Chief Justice of Pakistan, Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry. The bench heard the case filed by the chief of Tehreek-e-Insaaf, Imran Khan in regards to the list of voters issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan. Other members of the bench include Justice Sarmad Jalal, Justice Tariq Pervez, and Justice Khilji Arif Hussian.

Nine ministers from the Punjab Assembly and four from the Sindh Assembly have been declared unsuitable to continue as lawmakers in the assembly sessions. Eight of the suspended members belong to the Pakistan People’s Party and nine of them are members of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz.

After a break of two days, the National Assembly members are going to meet today to come down to a mutual conclusion to the 20th Amendment. It will be a difficult task for the government since it will need approval from the coalition partners as well as the opposition for the matter to be resolved.

Article viewed on Oye! Times at www.oyetimes.com 


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *