Schedules announced for BMO National Championships Challenge Trophy & Jubilee Trophy

The Canadian Soccer Association has officially announced the schedules for the 2010 BMO National Championships Challenge Trophy (senior men’s) and Jubilee Trophy (senior women’s) competitions. Both championships run this 6-11 October in Charlottetown, PE with matches to be played at the University of Prince Edward Island, Cornwall, and Stratford.

“It is a tremendous achievement to represent your province or territory at the BMO National Championships,” said Canadian Soccer Association President Dr. Dominic Maestracci. “They are all accomplished athletes, coaches, and referees. In addition to competing and officiating at an elite level, they commit to excellence and embody the ideals of fair play, integrity, and sportsmanship.”

“BMO, Canada’s Bank of Soccer, is proud to help the top soccer teams turn their dreams into reality. The BMO National Championships allows teams to showcase their hard work and sacrifice. We are proud to witness their amazing abilities and hope soccer fans in Charlottetown will join us in applauding their efforts," added Christine Cooper, Vice-President, New Brunswick/PEI Division, BMO Financial Group.

The Challenge Trophy competition has been competed since 1913 while the Jubilee Trophy competition has been competed since 1982. For all the information on the 2010 BMO National Championships, please be sure to bookmark the competition microsite at

BMO proudly supports soccer across Canada from youth players in local neighbourhoods and communities, to professional levels of play. BMO’s deep commitment to "The Beautiful Game" is evident with our grassroots sponsorship of over 500 youth teams nationally. The relationship continues with our support of elite youth players at the BMO National Championships through to Canada’s professional teams, Vancouver Whitecaps FC and Toronto FC. For more information on BMO’s involvement in soccer, visit

2010 BMO National Championships Challenge Trophy schedule

The 2010 BMO National Championships Challenge Trophy competition features 10 teams in two groups. With last year’s national champion Hellas SC from Manitoba eliminated, a new champion will be decided in Prince Edward Island. Hellas SC was eliminated at the provincial semi-final stage by Lucania SC, a two-time national champion from 1987 and 2000. Holy Cross from Newfoundland Labrador is the one other former national champion (1988) qualified for the 2010 competition.

Returning to the 2010 BMO National Championships are both the silver and bronze medalists from one year ago. Royal Sélect de Beauport from Québec (silver in 2009), host Churchill Arms from Prince Edward Island (bronze in 2009 as the Avondale Islanders), Holy Cross (sixth in 2009) and Huskie Alumni from Saskatchewan (eighth in 2009) are the four returning clubs from last year’s BMO National Championships in Saskatoon, SK.

For the 2010 competition, Group A features Lucania SC, Calgary Dinosaurs (Alberta), Gorge FC (British Columbia), Huskie Alumni, and AEK London FC (Ontario). Group B features Royal Sélect de Beauport, Churchill Arms, Holy Cross, Halifax Dunbrack (Nova Scotia) and PEI Selects (Prince Edward Island).

2010 BMO National Championships Jubilee Trophy schedule

All three medalists from last year’s competition in Saskatoon are back for the 2010 BMO National Championships in Charlottetown, PE. Edmonton Victoria (Jubilee Trophy champions), Surrey United (silver) and Halifax Dunbrack (bronze) are all back as provincial champions. Also returning to this year’s competition is Holy Cross/Kirby (sixth in 2009) and WSA North Stars (eighth in 2009, formerly known as South End United).

Group A in this year’s Jubilee Trophy competition features Edmonton Victoria of Alberta, Barrie Spirit of Ontario, Holy Cross/Kirby of Newfoundland Labrador, and Sherwood-Parkdale of Prince Edward Island. Group B features Surrey United of British Columbia, Halifax Dunbrack of Nova Scotia, WSA North Stars of Manitoba, and Verts de Sherbrooke of Québec.

The Jubilee Trophy competition has been competed since 1982. Edmonton Victoria is a three-time champion, having won back-to-back titles in 2004 and 2005 plus a third title in 2009. As for last year’s silver medalist Surrey United, it will tie a record of seven-straight appearances at the senior women’s championship, a record originaly established by the Edmonton Angels from 1982 to 1988.

Related Articles

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *