Music Review O Teri


We expect mass-friendly youthful music in a film with a Salman Khan flavour added – that is some melody and elegance as well.


The ongoing obsession with the human derriere, we hope, has reached saturation point now. Kumaar's 'You Got Me Going Crazy With Your Butt Patlo' has lines like 'Round and round your bum is going round' that do not really sound elegant, right? Jaspreet Jasz and Roshni Baptist sing this Gj Singh composition. If nothing else, the orchestration could have been more ear-friendly.

The same lyricist and composer come up with 'Ankhan Vich' (Gj Singh-Jaspreet Jasz-Neeti Mohun), a song with (predominantly) English and Punjabi words in the lyrics. Here is where some more Hindi and a dollop of melody in the medley of sounds could have only enhanced the appeal.

The title-track 'O teri' is an item song sung by Rajiv Bhalla, Pooja Bhalla and Neuman Pinto and is composed by the former. The functional lyrics by Akshay K. Saxena are made up of clever rhymes and rap. It could have also done with much more substance in all its departments. However, the superstars voicing it within the film will carry it forward for a while and repeated hearings do make us realize that it is a mild but average number.

'Umbakkum' (Lulia Vantur-Mika Singh-Jaspreet Jasz) is again composed by Gj Singh. The lyrics (Abhinav Chaturvedi) are nonsensical (as intended this time) and Mika lifts the song a shade with his customary drawling vocals. It's remix version is thankfully not discordant, but the gimmicky element in it is about the only difference.

'Phollo Karta', written and sung by Manish J. Tipu and composed by Hard Kaur, is gimmicky too, but the words are amusing and Manish also sings well. And Hard Kaur, to her credit, makes the tune appealing and keeps the orchestration simple and wholesome.


We really hoped for a better soundtrack from a filmmaker known for the melodies of Dil Ne Jise Apna Kahaa, Hello and Bodyguard.

Our Pick:

'Phollo Karta', 'O Teri'

Music: G.J. Singh, Hard Kaur & Rajiv Bhalla
Lyrics: Kumaar, Abhinav Chaturvedi, Manish J. Tipu & Akshay K. Saxena
Music Label: T-Series

Article written by staff at Bollywood Hungama. Read more

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *