Sebestian Vettel crowned as World Champion at FIA Awards Gala

Sebastian Vettel

Sebastian Vettel

Red Bull’s, Sebastian Vettel has been crowned World Champion for the second year in a row at the 2011 FIA Awards Night while Jaypee Sports International (JPSI) bagged the Formula One Promotional Trophy for successfully hosting the inaugural Indian Grand Prix at a glittering function.

The award ceremony honoring the world champions in all FIA-certified events took place in India for the first time on Friday. The function was held at the Kingdom of Dreams in Gurgaon. Vettel has unruffled the desirable trophy from FIA president Jean Todt, while Red Bull Racing Team principal, Christian Horner was accessible with the Constructors’ Trophy by F1 boss, Bernie Ecclestone. Jenson Button and Mark Webber also received awards for second and third places in the Drivers’ Championship.

“It is great to be here in India at the FIA Gala to collect my second Drivers’ Championship Trophy,” said Vettel in an FIA statement.

“I have had the trophy in my house all year and didn’t want to give it back, so this means a great deal to me. It is hard to put into words how it feels to win again; the team stayed paying attention and made few blunder and I would like to thank them for all their inspiring efforts. I would also like to thank Renault (engine supplier) who worked so hard all year. The history of Formula One means a lot to me and it is special to know that we are now somehow a part of that.”

Vettel famously never had led the 2010 Championship until the last day of the season. In 2011 he led from the first day to the last. Along the way, he has scored victories in Australia, Malaysia, Turkey, Spain and Monaco, at the European Grand Prix in Valencia, in Belgium Italy, Singapore, Korea and India. He only finished off the plinth twice during the 19 races, took a record-breaking 15 pole positions and three fastest laps.

Here in India, he has become the youngest man to record a grand chelem: taking pole, victory, fastest lap and leading every lap of the race at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC) in Greater Noida. The Indian Grand Prix promoters has been awarded too at the gala for bringing a new race on the FI calendar. Ecclestone obtainable the trophy to JPSI managing director Sameer Gaur.

The Promoters’ Trophy was expected as India was the lone new location in 2011. Korea won the same award for hosting the first race last year and so did Abu Dhabi for 2009.

Article viewed on Oye! Times at

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *