HSBC World Sevens Rugby Series arrives in Vancouver

16 nations from around the globe will once again battle it out for a chance to lift the coveted Canada Sevens trophy. A trophy that has only been lifted twice before, by New Zealand in 2016 and England in 2017.

Vancouver serves as the sixth stop on this season’s World Series, which has seen five different nations win cup titles so far. The Blitzboks from South Africa currently lead the standings on 92 points, followed by New Zealand and Fiji.

2018 has been the year of the home team with both Australia and USA claiming titles on their home turf. Canada will be looking to add their name to this list when they take the field in front of a potential record home crowd at BC Place this weekend.

The 11th placed Canadians come off the back of a heart-breaking Challenge Trophy runner-up finish in Las Vegas but will take many positives from their victories over the likes of Scotland, Wales and Spain.

Harry Jones once again captains Canada with an influential playmaker, Nate Hirayama and in-form Justin Douglas looking to do the damage out wide. Nate Hirayama currently leads the way for most points scored this season and will be full of confidence after another world-class performance in Las Vegas.

Canada has been drawn alongside USA, Australia, and Uruguay in pool A and will feature in the 7thmatch of day 1 at 11:42am against the Green and Gold from down under.

The Canada Sevens have been successful since day one, with a 30,000-plus crowd both days of the inaugural event in 2016 and then nearly hitting 40k this year.

The  HSBC World Sevens will  be broadcasted live on

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *