Saracens beat Exeter in a superb Premiership final at Twickenham

European champions Saracens overturned an 11-point deficit to beat Exeter in a superb Premiership final at Twickenham. 

Nic White put Exeter ahead after just 27 seconds, but Jamie George and Ben Spencer crossed for Sarries before Dave Ewers restored Exeter's lead.

Jonny Hill's try stretched Chiefs' lead to 22-16 at the break. 

Henry Slade put Exeter 27-16 up, but tries by Liam Williams, Sean Maitland and George saw Sarries retain their title and win a fourth in five years. 

Sam Hill's last-second try was a mere consolation for Exeter, who have lost all three of their final appearances against Saracens.

No side had ever overturned a deficit of more than six points in a Premiership final before, but Saracens' comeback ensured the record that Northampton set when they beat Mark McCall's side in 2014 is consigned to history.

Sarries have now won five of the last nine Premiership crowns and complete a second double in four seasons following their victory over Leinster in the European Champions Cup final last month.

Exeter Chiefs (22) 34 

Tries: White, Ewers, J Hill, Slade, S Hill Cons: J Simmonds 3 Pen: J Simmonds 

Saracens (16) 37 

Tries: George 2, Spencer, L Williams, Maitland Cons: Farrell 3 Pens: Farrell 2 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *