This article was last updated on April 16, 2022

Canada: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…
USA: Free $30 Oye! Times readers Get FREE $30 to spend on Amazon, Walmart…

Saturday afternoon’s McCormick Cup Final will feature a rematch of last year’s provincial championship fixture, with Balmy Beach and Toronto Scottish set to compete for Ontario men’s rugby’s oldest and most coveted prize at Fletcher’s Fields in Markham, Ont.

Balmy Beach enter the championship match as the tournament’s top seed, and are looking for their second consecutive Ontario men’s rugby ‘double’; following last year’s McCormick Cup Final victory over Toronto Scottish, Balmy Beach have continued their winnings ways, earning the 2015 Marshall Premiership title with a league-best record of 10-3-1 (54 points).

Balmy Beach’s road to the McCormick Cup Final began in late September with opening-round wins over Marshall Championship division side Sarnia Saints (50-26) and Eastern Ontario league champions Bytown Blues (72-10). The title holders’ third round featured a comfortable victory over the Premiership’s fifth-place finisher, Crusaders (40-12).

Toronto Scottish are the tournament’s second seed for the second year running, having once again finished as the Premiership runners-up with a record of 10-4 (51 points). The 2013 league champions split their two matches with Balmy Beach throughout the 2015 regular season, but had a firm hold on second place in the Premiership; their 51 points were seven better than the third-place Brantford Harlequins.

Similar to Balmy Beach, Toronto Scottish’s trek to the McCormick Cup Final was scare-free. After defeating Marshall Championship side Peterborough Pagans (34-15), Scottish dispatched of Premiership opponents in succession, overcoming Stoney Creek (49-19) before moving past Brantford Harlequins (26-12) to earn a berth in the final.

The McCormick Cup Final kicks off at 3 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 24 at Fletcher’s Fields. Tickets to the match are available at the gate ($10 – Adult; $5 – Youth).

A ticket also covers admission to three additional cup finals occurring at Fletcher’s Fields on Saturday: the McCormick Cup Consolation Final (12 p.m.; Lindsay vs. Brampton Beavers), the Gee Gage Cup Final (12 p.m.; Toronto Scottish II vs. Balmy Beach II) and the Men’s Intermediate Cup Final (12 p.m.; Barrie vs. Oshawa Vikings).

The McCormick Cup Final will be aired in high definition on Rogers TV Toronto/York (Cable 10/63) on Saturday, Oct. 24 at 5 p.m., Sunday, Oct. 25 at 2 p.m., and Monday, Oct. 26 at 7 p.m.

Recent McCormick Cup Champions:

2014 – Balmy Beach 2009 – Aurora Barbarians

2013 – Markham Irish 2008 – Irish Canadians

2012 – Oakville Crusaders 2007 – Aurora Barbarians

2011 – Balmy Beach 2006 – Irish Canadians

2010 – Aurora Barbarians 2005 – Balmy Beach

Clubs with Most Ontario Cup, Carling Cup and McCormick Cup (1982-Present) Titles:

Irish Canadians / Markham Irish – 17

Balmy Beach – 14

Toronto Nomads – 8

Ottawa Irish – 6

Toronto Barbarians / Aurora Barbarians – 6

About the McCormick Cup:

The McCormick Cup is a long-standing tradition in Ontario rugby; a term synonymous with Rugby Ontario. Played annually since 1950, the Cup is the title championship for Rugby Ontario’s Marshall Premiership and Championship senior men’s teams, along with the annual Eastern Ontario Rugby Union champion.

The Cup is named for former Rugby Ontario President Vic McCormick, one of the great builders of the sport in Ontario and a member of the Rugby Ontario Hall of Fame (Class of ’01). Since replacing the Carling Cup in 1982, the McCormick Cup has been hoisted ten times by Balmy Beach, six times by Ottawa Irish, and six times by the Irish Canadians / Markham Irish.

For more information, visit

Share with friends
You can publish this article on your website as long as you provide a link back to this page.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.