13-10, Senate supports Supreme Court on CJ case

Acting as an impeachment court, the senate has announced a 13-10 vote in regards to the Supreme Court’s decision of not allowing the opening of dollar accounts by the Chief Justice Renato Corona.

The senator judges voted early Monday morning and the results of the voting were announced around noon time by Juan Ponce Enrile, the presiding authority for the case.

Judges who voted in favor of the Supreme Court’s temporary restraining order (TRO) include: Juan Ponce Enrile, Jinggoy Estrada, Vicente Sotto II, Joker Arroyo, Francis Escudero, Miriam Santiago, Ferdinand Marcos Jr., Aquilino Pimentel III, Manny Villar, Loren Legarda, Ralph Recto, Bong Revilla, and Gregorio Honasan.

On the other hand, those who refused to agree with the decision and voted against it comprise of Franklin Drilon, TG Guingona, Edgardo Angara, Alan Cavetano, Lito Lapid, Serge Osmena, Panfilo Lacson, Francis Pangilinan, Pia Cavetano, and Antonio Trillanes.

Ernie gave his statement, “The 13 members of the court opted to respect the TRO issued by the SC from this particular issue regarding the matter raised by the PSBank with respect to the alleged foreign currency deposits of the respondent in that bank.”

The matter was discussed in detail on Monday before the voting was held.

Corona’s lawyer also accused Malacanang of giving P100 million to the senator judges to defy the orders of the high court regarding the TRO matter.

Article viewed on Oye! Times at www.oyetimes.com 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *