Christian Hanson Named Marlies IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year

This article was last updated on April 16, 2022

The Toronto Marlies are proud to announce that forward Christian Hanson has been named the team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Toronto community during the 2010-11 season.

In addition to Hanson’s contributions on the ice, he donated his time on numerous occasions to have a positive impact in the community. This season he’s made over 20 charitable appearances and also participated in many Team Up Foundation events around the city. Hanson was also heavily involved in the Toronto Marlies anti-bullying assemblies where he shared stories and advice about taking a proactive approach to dealing with problems in a peaceful manner. This community initiative sees him speak at various schools throughout the GTA.

Hanson is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL’s 2010-11 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honouring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League in the coming weeks.

Share with friends
You can publish this article on your website as long as you provide a link back to this page.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.