Kohli’s 100 – India leads to victory by 8 wickets against England

Virat Kohli (112 not out) and Gautam Gambhir (84 not out) collectively stand for an unbeaten 209-run to steer India to a comprehensive eight-wicket victory over England in the second one-day international at Ferozeshah Kotla stadium in New Delhi on Monday.

With this thumping win, India has taken a 2-0 lead in the five-match series against the visiting side. Kohli has finished another impressive century, his seventh in one-day international, to lead the Indian run chase as they achieved the modest 238-run target in just 36.4 overs. Kohli hit 16 boundaries in his 98-ball luminous knock as he raced to his seventh ton in just 89 balls.

Gambhir has played the role of an ideal partner for flamboyant Kohli, as the left-hander himself has played a gem of an innings off 90 balls and shattered ten boundaries. India got off to a bad initiate as they lost openers Ajinkya Rahane (14) and Parthiv Patel (12) early. Tim Bresnan struck twice in his consecutive overs to provide England early breakthroughs after visiting bowlers checkedIndia’s run chase from the beginning.

Rahane was caught near the boundary rope while annoying to hit two consecutive sixes in the seventh over. The right-hander hit a six and a four in his 15-ball play. Earlier, pacer Vinay Kumar took 4 wickets for 30 runs to help India bundle out England for 237 on Monday. Vinay led an imposing young Indian attack as they knocked offEnglandtop-orders cheaply to reduce the visitors to 121/5 in 25.2 overs. Umesh Yadav supported Vinay and Praveen Kumar well as a third paceman and took two English wickets for 50 runs.

Praveen started Indian attack by removing England skipper Alastair Cook for naught in the very first over. Vinay soon connected the party as he dismissed Craig Kieswetter (0), Jonathan Trott (34) inside the mandatory powerplay.

England progress their innings on a bad note as they lost skipper Alastair Cook and Craig Kieswetter in the first two overs. Praveen Kumar struck on the fourth delivery of the first over to remove Cook who challenged to hit over point but failed to get the elevation as Ravindra Jadeja made no mistake to pouch it. Vinay Kumar joined his partner to give England another shock as he dismissed Craig Kieswetter to thump visitors to 0/2.

Earlier, England skipper Alastair Cook won the toss and decided to bat against India. Both India and England have retained the same side which played the first ODI in Hyderabad. Floated by the resounding 126-run triumph in the opening game, India will seek to maintain their lead against England in the second ODI with the focus on grooming the young brigade.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Gautam Gambhir, Parthiv Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar.

England: Alastair Cook (captain), Craig Kieswetter (wicketkeeper), Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Ravi Bopara, Jonathan Bairstow, Graeme Swann, Samit Patel, Tim Bresnan, Steven Finn, Jade Dernbach.

Article viewed on Oye! Times at www.oyetimes.com

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *