Illegal mining report to be reviewed by Cabinet

A Mining Site

A Mining Site

The report of the official committee which has no compulsory action against 617 officials summoned in the Lokayukta report on illegal mining, will come up before the cabinet for discussion tomorrow.

The commission, headed by additional Chief Secretary Jairaj, submitted its recommendations to Chief Secretary S V Ranganath on October 25. The cabinet will take a view on the recommendations and settle on the nature of action to be taken against officials found guilty in the report, officials said here today.

The Jairaj-led committee has recommended the government to introduce e-permits and e-weigh bridges to check illegal transport and overloading of iron ore. The committee has also suggested that the government set up a taskforce to monitor mining actions in the state. Ranganath yesterday, wrote to the Lokayukta office, stating that government would initiate an action on its report. However, the government has sought certain clarifications on the Lokayukta report’s orientation on non-officials, like the Chief Minister and ministers.

The Lokayukta report had recommended action against the then Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, who had to quit after getting accused. Three Bellary ministers – G Karunakara Reddy, his brother G Janardhana Reddy and B Sreeramulu – have also been named in the report, which suggested they should be dropped from the ministry and not re-inducted. Yeddyurappa’s successor D V Sadananda Gowda did not induct the trio. In developments that unfolded in August, CBI arrested Janardhana Reddy in connection with illegal mining and he is persisting to be in judicial custody in a Hyderabad jail. The cabinet has sought clarification on whether Lokayukta has investigated the mining issue on a reference from the government or on a complaint and whether it can recommend action against ministers appointed by the Governor on the advice of the Chief Minister.

Article viewed on Oye! Times at

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *