Music Review Akira


Given the action genre of Akira, you expect the film to be a song-less affair. Hence, it is surprising to see four songs in there (with a couple of repeat versions) and none other than Vishal-Shekhar returning as composers after Sultan. Manoj Muntashir is the prime lyricist with Kumaar writing the theme track.


Newcomer Nahid Afrin is roped in for the theme track 'Rajj Rajj Ke' which appears thrice in the album. Even though the core sound of the song (which also has Vishal Dadlani chipping in) is just about decent, it is the rhythm that is brought in with the sound of drum beats that gives it an edge. Expect this Kumaar written song to appear at multiple junctures in the film whenever Sonakshi Sinha takes on her tormentors. The song is later repeated and also appears in a remix version.

  It is the sound or romance coming in next as Arijit Singh is heard crooning Manoj Muntashir written 'Purza'. Yet again, the song stays in the average zone and it is the arrangements that elevate it to some extent. In fact it has the kind of sound that is heard in rhythmic melodies coming in from down South.

  It is simplicity that rules the proceedings as Shekhar Ravjiani goes all mooney-eyed in 'Kehkasha Tu Meri' which again has Manoj Muntashir as the lyricist. This one actually turns out to be a better bet than 'Purza' and has a late 70s/early 80s feel to it.

Sunidhi Chauhan is brought on board for 'Baadal' and this one seems like a sober version of 'Rajj Rajj Ke'. The overall mood of the female protagonist is pretty much angsty this time around too and one expects this Manoj Muntashir written track to be played for the background.


Akira has a couple of theme tracks and two love songs which are there primarily as fillers. Though one doesn't expect these songs to be chartbusters, one hopes that they are used well in the film's narrative.


‘Rajj Rajj Ke’, ‘Kehkasha Tu Meri’

Article written by staff at Bollywood Hungama. Read more

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *