Cabinet Approves Investment Ministry Policy Statement For 2012-13

This article was last updated on May 25, 2022

The State Investment Minister said that the meeting did its best to approve the policy document and it will further be presented to the assembly for deliberations and subsequent passing so it becomes a binding law for implementation.

The ministry was established in February and is the principal government agency responsible for administering state wide policies on development of private sector and public private partnerships, and creating conducive investment environment that could create an enabling environment for employment and reduce poverty.

The ministry coordinates industrial, commercial and trade matters and liaises with various public and private sector organizations to facilitate the implementation of government  policies related to commercial and trade activities, industry, investment and mining.

Eastern Equatoria State is rich in natural resources, with a vast arable land, tourist sites such as Fulla falls and Nimule National Park in Magwi County, Imatong Ranges and Kidepo Game Reserve in Ikwoto County.

There exists wildlife in Badingilo and Boma National Park, gold deposits, limestone, fossil fuel and precious stones in Kapoeta and oil in Block B covering the north western part of the state.  

According to the minister, the key mandate is formulation of policies to develop industries and create employment, improve the competitiveness of domestic economy and promote investment in the state.

The ministry plays a stimulating and facilitating role in building a sustainable and diversified state economy for the benefit of its people.

The goal is to improve the state’s economy through vital investments in potential growth industries but not limited to, agriculture, livestock, energy, mining, healthcare, communications, financial services, industry, wildlife, tourism and education.

The minister revealed that her ministry will establish partnerships to enhance the opportunities and foster innovation in these sectors.

The ministry comprises of five key directorates.

Share with friends
You can publish this article on your website as long as you provide a link back to this page.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.