CONCACAF unveils 2011/12 Champions League Quarterfinal Schedule



The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced Tuesday the quarterfinal schedule for the 2011/12 CONCACAF Champions League. The Championship Round opens with defending champion Monterrey going on the road to face Mexican rival Morelia on Tuesday, March 6. 

Toronto FC will be home against the LA Galaxy in the first leg of their all-Major League Soccer knockout round match on Wednesday, March 7, with the USA’s Seattle Sounders hosting Santos of Mexico later that same evening. 

The first leg ends on Thursday, March 8, when Mexico’s Pumas travels to El Salvador for a meeting with Isidro Metapan. 

Second-leg action starts on Tuesday, March 13, with Monterrey taking on Morelia at home, followed the next day by Santos-Seattle and LA 
Galaxy-Toronto FC. Pumas will close quarterfinal play on March 15 by welcoming Isidro Metapan to Mexico City. 

The quarterfinal winners will advance to the semifinals March 27-29 and April 3-5, with the two-leg final set for April 17-19 and April 24-26. 

The winner of the 2011/12 CONCACAF Champions League will earn a berth at the 2012 FIFA Club World Cup. 

All Times U.S. Eastern (local times in parentheses)

First Leg 
Tuesday, March 6, 2012 
Morelia (MEX) vs. Monterrey (MEX), 10 p.m. (9 p.m.) 

Wednesday, March 7, 2012 
Toronto FC (CAN) vs. LA Galaxy (USA), 8 p.m. (8 p.m.) 
Seattle Sounders (USA) vs. Santos (MEX), 10 p.m. (7 p.m.) 

Thursday, March 8, 2012 
Isidro Metapan (SLV) vs. Pumas (MEX), 8 p.m. (7 p.m.)

Second Leg 
Tuesday, March 13, 2012 
Monterrey (MEX) vs. Morelia (MEX), 10 p.m. (8 p.m.) 

Wednesday, March 14, 2012 
Santos (MEX) vs. Seattle Sounders (USA), 8 p.m. (6 p.m.) 
LA Galaxy (USA) vs. Toronto FC  (CAN), 10 p.m. (7 p.m.) 

Thursday, March 15, 2012 
Pumas (MEX) vs. Isidro Metapan (SLV), 10 p.m. (8 p.m.) 

First Leg 
March 27-29, 2012 
LA Galaxy-Toronto FC winner vs. Santos-Seattle Sounders winner 
Monterrey-Morelia winner vs. Pumas-Isidro Metapan winner 

Second Leg 
April 3-5, 2012 
Santos-Seattle Sounders winner vs. LA Galaxy-Toronto FC winner 
Pumas-Isidro Metapan winner vs. Monterrey-Morelia winner 

First Leg 
April 17-19, 2012 
Monterrey-Morelia/Pumas-Metapan winner vs. LA Galaxy-Toronto 
FC/Santos-Seattle Sounders winner 

Second Leg 
April 24-26, 2012 
LA Galaxy-Toronto FC/Santos-Seattle Sounders winner vs. 
Monterrey-Morelia/Pumas-Metapan winner

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *