CONCACAF Announces Schedule for U-17 Women’s Championship

The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced today the complete schedule for its Under-17 Women’s Championship, which starts on May 2 with a Group A doubleheader.  In the opener, defending champion Canada meets Panama immediately followed by an encounter between host Guatemala and Jamaica. 

Group B play commences with another doubleheader on May 3, when the Bahamas faces the United States and Mexico takes on Trinidad & Tobago. 

All matchdays in the tournament will be played as doubleheaders at the Estadio Cementos Progreso in Guatemala City, site of the 2010 CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship and numerous CONCACAF Champions League games. 

Guatemala and Canada will square-off against each other for the first time in the competition’s history to complete Group A action on May 6, while round-robin play will conclude the following day with a Group B match-up between the United States and Mexico.  

The group winners will face the runners-up from the other group in the semifinals on May 10, with the third-place and championship matches set for May 12. 

The two finalists and the winner of the third-place game will qualify for the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in Azerbaijan from September 22 to October 13. 

2012 CONCACAF U-17 Women’s Championship at Guatemala City, Guatemala (Estadio Cementos Progreso) 

All times U.S. Eastern (local times in parenthesis) 


Group A: Guatemala, Canada, Panama, Jamaica 
Group B: Mexico, United States, Trinidad & Tobago, Bahamas 

Wednesday, May 2 
Canada vs. Panama, 4 p.m. (2 p.m.) 
Guatemala vs. Jamaica, 6:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.) 

Thursday, May 3 
Bahamas vs. United States, 4 p.m. (2 p.m.) 
Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 6:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.) 

Friday, May 4 
Jamaica vs. Canada, 4 p.m. (2 p.m.) 
Guatemala vs. Panama, 6:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.) 

Saturday, May 5 
United States vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 4 p.m. (2 p.m.) 
Mexico vs. Bahamas, 6:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.) 

Sunday, May 6 
Panama vs. Jamaica, 4 p.m. (2 p.m.) 
Guatemala vs. Canada, 6:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.) 

Monday, May 7 
Trinidad & Tobago vs. Bahamas, 4 p.m. (2 p.m.) 
United States vs. Mexico, 6:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.) 

(Match order subject to change) 

Thursday, May 10 
Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 3:30 p.m. (1:30 p.m.) 
Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 6:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.) 


Saturday, May 12 
Third Place 
Semifinal losers, 3:30 p.m. (1:30 p.m.) 

Semifinal winners, 6:30 p.m. (4:30 p.m.)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *