NBL Canada Inaugural All-star Voting Begins

The National Basketball League of Canada tips-off its 2012 All-Star selection process today. The 2012 All-Star Weekend will be held March 31-April 1 in Halifax, Nova Scotia. 

“We’re excited to include our fans in the All-Star voting process,” said John Kennedy, NBL Canada Commissioner. “All-Star weekend is not only about showcasing the talent of the league, but celebrating our fans and partners who have supported us in our inaugural season.” 

2012 NBL All-Stars will be chosen through a fan vote and fantasy draft. Beginning today, fans can cast their votes here daily for their top 20 players to participate in the inaugural All-Star weekend. Players not currently on the list are still eligible to be selected, so fans can enter the name of a player not on the list to be considered. 

This list is complied of each team’s top picks for All-Star contenders. The top 20 players, along with 10 alternates will be revealed in early March. 

All seven NBL Canada Head Coaches will then choose a Captain for each team. Captains will be responsible for selecting their teams through a Fantasy draft, alternating their selections from the top 20 pool. 

Each team will consist of ten players and include a minimum of 3 Canadians. To ensure there is representation from all markets, Captains will need to choose a minimum of 1 player from each team and a maximum of 3 players from their respective regular season teams. 

NBL Canada All-Star Watch List (by team in alphabetical order): 

1. Taliek Brown, Halifax Rainmen 
2. Eric Crookshank, Halifax Rainmen 
3. Joey Haywood, Halifax Rainmen (Canadian) 
4. Justin Johnson, Halifax Rainmen 
5. Tyrone Levett, Halifax Rainmen 
6. Lawrence Wright, Halifax Rainmen 
7. DeAnthony Bowden, London Lightning 
8. Shawn Daniels, London Lightning 
9. Tim Ellis, London Lightning 
10. Gabe Freeman, London Lightning 
11. Michael King, London Lightning (Canadian) 
12. Eddie Smith, London Lightning 
13. Boubcar Coly, Moncton Miracles 
14. Trayvon Lathan, Moncton Miracles 
15. Nick Lother, Moncton Miracles (Canadian) 
16. Sylvania Watkins, Moncton Miracles 
17. Darrell Wonge, Moncton Miracles 
18. Paul Campbell, Oshawa Power (Canadian) 
19. Marcus Johnson, Oshawa Power 
20. Omari Johnson, Oshawa Power 
21. Morgan Lewis, Oshawa Power 
22. Brandon Robinson, Oshawa Power 
23. Tut Ruach, Oshawa Power (Canadian) 
24. Jermaine Blackburn, Quebec Kebs 
25. Ralphy Holmes, Quebec Kebs 
26. James ‘Boo’ Jackson, Quebec Kebs 
27. Royce Parren, Quebec Kebs 
28. Aaron Spears, Quebec Kebs 
29. Rick Volcy, Quebec Kebs (Canadian) 
30. Anthony Anderson, Saint John Mill Rats 
31. Antonio Burks, Saint John Mill Rats 
32. Steve Deluca, Saint John Mill Rats 
33. Darren Duncan, Saint John Mill Rats 
34. Greg Plummer, Saint John Mill Rats 
35. Kevin Francis, Saint John Mill Rats (Canadian) 
36. Julien Allen, Summerside Storm 
37. Chris Cayole, Summerside Storm (Canadian) 
38. Eric Gilchrese, Summerside Storm 
39. Stephen McDowell, Summerside Storm 
40. Al Stewart, Summerside Storm 
41. Mike Williams, Summerside Storm 

2012 All-Star weekend will consist of two-days of exciting events from an All-Star breakfast, family activities, to a three-point shoot out, slam-dunk contest, legends game and of course the All-Star Game.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Confirm you are not a spammer! *